Three municipalities in Pictou County looking for ways to co-operate

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

NEW GLASGOW, N.S. - Three of six municipalities in the Pictou County area of Nova Scotia have agreed to harmonize their services, bylaws and taxation levels.

Representatives from the Municipality of Pictou County and the towns of New Glasgow and Pictou say they plan to sign a memorandum of understanding by June 1.

The plan was announced at New Glasgow town council today, three days after the province said it wouldn't pay for a $150,000 study on forming a regional government because the six municipal governments couldn't reach a consensus.

New Glasgow Mayor Barrie MacMillan says the towns of Trenton, Stellarton and Westville are welcome to join the move towards harmonization.

Deputy warden Andy Thompson of Pictou County says the pending agreement doesn't mean the municipalities are prepared to amalgamate.

He says amalgamation hasn't worked well for some communities in the Halifax region, which is why Pictou County and the two towns will be taking their time on harmonization.


Organizations: New Glasgow town council

Geographic location: Pictou County, NEW GLASGOW, Nova Scotia Trenton Stellarton Westville Halifax

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page