Hockey Hall of Fame class of 2013 united by winning at sport's highest levels

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

TORONTO - The Hockey Hall of Fame will induct Scott Niedermayer, Chris Chelios, Brendan Shanahan, Fred Shero and Geraldine Heaney as the class of 2013 on Monday.

It's the first class since 2009 in which every NHL-connected member has his name on the Stanley Cup.

"If you're going into the Hall of Fame, you're a winner, obviously, and that's why you're going in," said Heaney, who won an Olympic gold medal and seven world championship titles with Canada.

Selection committee chairman Pat Quinn said Stanley Cups used to be a bigger factor when considering players' careers back when the NHL had six teams. For players who were around in the expansion era from 1967 on, individual statistics took on more importance.

This group has both. Niedermayer, Chelios and Shanahan combined to win 10 Cups as players, while Shero led the Philadelphia Flyers to two as a coach.

Last year's class of had only one player who won the Cup in Joe Sakic, who did it twice as a captain. Adam Oates, Pavel Bure and Mats Sundin never played on a team that won it.

Organizations: Hockey Hall of Fame, NHL, Philadelphia Flyers

Geographic location: TORONTO, Canada

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page