Today’s the day

The Telegram
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Voters across the province go to the polls

Today is the day for Newfoundlanders and Labradorians to get out and exercise their democratic right to vote in the 2013 municipal elections.

Mount Pearl resident Gordon Cooper votes at the Church of the Ascension on Smallwood Drive. Looking on is poll clerk Isabel Sauvé.

Polls are open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m., and by the first week in October most new councils will be sworn in.  

In St. John’s, while most residents will have voted by now using the mail-in ballots, there’s still time for those who haven’t.

There is a drop box in front of city hall and satellite dropoff sites will be set up in each ward where vote-by-mail kits can be dropped off or completed.

The satellite locations are:

—    Ward 1 — Wedgewood Park Recreation Centre, 47 Gleneyre St.;

—    Ward 2 — St. John’s Recreation Centre, Buckmaster’s Circle, (off Rickett’s Road or Pennywell Road);

—    Ward 3 — H.G.R. Mews Community Centre, 40 Mundy Pond Rd.;

—    Ward 4 — St. David’s Presbyterian Church Hall, 98 Elizabeth Ave.;

—    Ward 5 — Kilbride Lions Community Centre, Fahey Street (off Mogridge Street); and outside city hall.

There are 30 candidates vying for seats in St. John’s.


Mount Pearl

While Mount Pearl Mayor Randy Simms has been acclaimed, 13 people are running for council.

There are several polling stations set up in Mount Pearl. Go to and click on the Mount Pearl municipal election your vote counts icon. Under municipal election click where to vote to locate your street and polling station.



Voting for the Town of Torbay will take place at the Jack Byrne Arena, 7 Kennedy’s Brook Dr. — 13 people are seeking seats on council.


Conception Bay South

In Conception Bay South 15 candidates will be on the ballot while two have already been acclaimed.  

Places to vote are:

—    Ward 1 — Topsail United Church;

—    Ward 2 — Conception Bay South Lions Club, Long Pond;

—    Ward 3 — All Saints Parish Hall, Foxtrap;

—    Ward 4 — Riverdale Lanes, Kelligrews.



Three polling stations have been set up for voting in the Town of Paradise where 15 candidates are seeking seats on council. Residents can vote at:

—    Rotary Paradise Youth and Community Centre, 68 McNamara Dr.;

—    St. Thomas Hall, 2 Neary Rd. or

—    Elizabeth Park Elementary, 80 Ellesmere Ave.

Go to and click on the municipal election logo to find the list of polling stations assigned by street name.

In a recent news release Municipal Affairs Minister Kevin O’Brien said the provincial government is encouraged by the large number of candidates who are running in the election.

“We are very pleased by what we are seeing in communities across the province leading up to the Sept. 24 municipal election,” he said.

“There is a strong interest in communities large and small and what is clear is that residents are stepping forward to make a difference by seeking the nomination for council.”

Organizations: Presbyterian Church Hall, United Church, Conception Bay South Lions Club

Geographic location: Mount Pearl, Pennywell Road, Fahey Street Mogridge Street St. John’s.Mount PearlWhile Mount Pearl Mayor Randy Simms Torbay Long Pond Foxtrap

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page