Prominent candidates elected or defeated in the Ontario election

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

TORONTO - Progressive Conservative Leader Tim Hudak and NDP Leader Andrea Horwath have easily won their seats in the Ontario election.

Hudak was declared the winner in his Niagara West-Glanbrook riding and Horwath took her Hamilton Centre riding, while Premier Dalton McGuinty's Ottawa South riding has not yet been called.

Green party Leader Mike Schreiner lost in Simcoe-Grey, where he was challenging PC incumbent Jim Wilson.

Several prominent Liberals have also been re-elected, including Kathleen Wynne, Donna Cansfield, Madeleine Meilleur and Brad Duguid.

There are 14 ridings in which Liberals — many of them high-profile politicians in the last government — are not running again.

Two of those ridings that have been called so far have fallen — one to the NDP and one to the Conservatives.

Geographic location: Ontario

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page