Whitbourne returns five from previous council

Nicholas Mercer
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Hilda Whelan re-elected as mayor


As it stands right now Whitbourne’s Hilda Whelan will be the only female mayor in the Trinity Conception region.

This comes after Whelan defeated challenger William Barron Sr. for the mayor’s chair on Sept. 24.

The mayor secured 211 votes compared to Barron’s 148.

Whelan, who is currently the mayor, took over for former mayor Lloyd Gosse earlier this year when he resigned from the position.

She made provincial headlines in January when she was named the winner of the inaugural Ovations Award.

Joining Whelan on council will be Roger Morgan (306), Terry Rose (297), Terry Gillam (296), Brent Cole (285), Thomas Howe (276) and Todd Sears (198).

Rose, Gillam, Howe and Morgan are all returning members of council.

Doug Corcoran was the only candidate who was not elected. He received 121 votes.


  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page