Historic commemorations board welcomes new member

Staff ~ The Telegram
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Gary Baikie of Nain has been appointed to the six-member board of the Provincial Historic Commemorations Program, which was launched in 2008 to recognize and promote aspects of provincial historical and cultural significance.
Baikie joins FranÇoise Enguhard (chair), Terry Bishop Stirling (vice-chair), Anita Best, Jerry Dick and Robert Hobbs on the board.
"Mr. Baikie has a wealth of experience in the tourism, culture and heritage sectors, particularly in Labrador, and will be a tremendous asset to the board," Tourism Minister Terry French. "We look forward to his involvement as we move forward with plans to announce the second round of designations, expected in the fall of this year."
The first designations under the Provincial Historic Commemorations Program were announced in March, with musician Kelly Russell honoured in the category of Tradition Bearer and Dildo Island recognized as a Place of Provincial Significance. Nominations for the fall designations are currently being considered, while the deadline for nominations for the 2011 program has been set for June 15, 2010.
For more information on the criteria for nominations and the Provincial Historic Commemorations Program, visit: www.tcr.gov.nl.ca/tcr/heritage/commemoration_program.html.

Geographic location: Labrador

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page