Finalists announced for two Visual Arts Awards

Staff ~ The Telegram
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Visual Artists Newfoundland and Labrador have announced short lists for two of the provincial Excellence in Visual Arts (EVA) Awards. The awards are set to be handed out in a ceremony May 28 at The Rooms in St. John's. The shortlists announced are for the Large Year Award and the Emerging Artist Award.
The Large Year Award, "celebrates a visual artist who has enjoyed an exceptional year, with at least one exhibition and critical recognition," according to a release from the artists' association. The award includes a cash prize of $1,000. Finalists for the Large Year Award are: Luben Boykov of Flatrock; Michael Flaherty, St. John's and Helen Gregory of St. John's.
The Emerging Artist Award, "honours the promising start made by an emerging visual artist in the early stages of their career." The award also includes a cash prize of $1,000. The finalists for Emerging Artist are: Jason Holley of Amherst Cove and Jason Penney of St. John's.
No shortlists are provided for either the Long Haul Award, recognizing contributions to the visual arts by a senior artist, or the Kippy Goins Award ("keep it going"), acknowledging "an individual or organization whose efforts have helped to sustain and build the visual arts sector."
"This year's EVA Awards jury reviewed submissions from across the province, representing a wide spectrum of artistic mediums and styles, from painting to sculpture, installation, conceptual art, fine craft, and printmaking," stated the artists' association release. "Visual Artists Newfoundland and Labrador extends its congratulations to all the shortlisted artists for this year's awards."
This will be the fifth annual EVA Awards, with the patron for the awards event being Mary Pratt. Limited seating at The Rooms will be available to the public. To request a seat, contact the VANL office (709-738-7303).


Organizations: The Rooms

Geographic location: St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page