Arts council announces finalists for 2012 arts awards

Tara Bradbury
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Newfoundland and Labrador Arts Council chairman Tom Gordon speaks at a news conference Wednesday announcing the finalists for the 27th annual Newfoundland and Labrador Arts Council Arts Awards. — Photo by Keith Gosse/The Telegram

CBC journalist Suzanne Woolridge will be recognized posthumously with an induction into the Newfoundland and Labrador Arts Council’s Hall of Honour.

Wednesday morning, the arts council announced the finalists for this year’s arts awards, and said it plans to recognize Woolridge’s work as an arts reporter and supporter of the arts community in this province by inducting her into the Hall of Honour, along with Labrador grass basket maker Garmel Rich.

Woolridge, a longtime CBC employee, passed away in January after a battle with Lou Gehrig’s disease (ALS).

The arts council will hold its 27th Arts Awards Show and gala at the Joseph R. Smallwood Arts and Culture Centre in Gander April 28.

“We’re thrilled to be taking the show back on the road, following its return to St. John’s last year,” said Reg Winsor, executive director of the arts council. “In 2010, celebrating the vibrant arts community in Labrador was so successful that we wanted to highlight established and rising talents in Gander last year.

In addition to the Hall of Honour inductions, five awards will be presented, recognizing artists of all disciplines in this province. The nominees are:

•    For the Arts in Education award: visual artist Margaret Best, theatre director/actor Sarah McDonald Anderson, and musician Christina Smith

•   For the Arts Achievement award: visual artist/writer Tara Bryan, musician Douglas Dunsmore, and visual artist Michael Pittman

•    For the Emerging Artist award: visual artists Jordan Bennett, Jennifer Galliott, and Jonathan Green

•    For the Arts of the Year award: Artistic Fraud of Newfoundland theatre company, visual artist Tina Dolter, and filmmaker/actor Ruth Lawrence.

Nominees for the Patron of the Arts award are not announced in advance.

Each winner will be presented with a piece of artwork by painted and printmaker Christine Koch.

Pete Soucy will host this year’s Arts Awards gala, which will also feature performances by Brian Way and the New Solitaires, Kim Wiseman and Mike Snelgrove.

Tickets for the gala are $20 and will go on sale Monday at the Gander Arts and Culture Centre box office or online at

Twitter: @tara_bradbury

Organizations: CBC, Newfoundland and Labrador Arts Council, Newfoundland theatre Gander Arts

Geographic location: Labrador, Gander

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page