Fresh Tracks - Katie Baggs

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

— Submitted photo

Resonating from the walls of a small church in Chance Cove, Newfoundland, Katie Baggs’ “Home Again, Home Again” marks both a geographical footing and a musical rooting as Baggs’ first solo recording, having established herself as a staple within a talented Newfoundland folk music community. After contributing the lions share of songs to the eponymous release by Dead Language (2008) and splitting the bill on All the Wiles “Painted” (2011), “Home Again, Home Again” promises to fall upon ears eager to catch this offering all Katie’s own. Recorded and co-produced by James Anderson, “Home Again, Home Again” manages to contain the subtlety of a live performance while scattering elegantly arranged string and harmony sections throughout the 10 songs on the album. Baggs is joined on the recording by Ben Rigby (upright bass), Jake Nicoll (vocals), Ilia Nicoll (vocals, viola), while accompanying herself on the guitar, violin, ukulele and vocal harmonies. “Home Again, Home Again” was released June 15 in St. John’s, with a tour heading to Halifax, Moncton, Fredericton, Saint John, N.B. and Toronto with stops at points in between. From Katie’s new disc, click here to listen to “All I Know”.

Geographic location: Newfoundland, Chance Cove, Halifax Moncton Fredericton Saint John Toronto

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page



Recent comments

  • Neil Conway
    June 26, 2012 - 10:07

    I bought this album at the CD release and listened to it repeatedly while driving across the island. From it's welcoming first song to the final farewell, it flows perfectly and you won't find yourself skipping through any of it. The arrangements are sparse and tasteful. it all does well to highlight Katie's sweet voice and simple yet emotionally inspiring lyrics. A lot of song writers try to pack too many different styles into one album. "Home Again, Home Again" has just enough dynamics to keep catching your attention without ever being jarring. It's the kind of disc you will listen to from beginning to end and again and again. Great job to everyone involved. I did notice no credit for the graphic design in the liner notes -though I guess that was up to the graphic designer.