East Coast Music Association announces industry award nominees

Staff ~ The Telegram
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.


Running up to East Coast Music Week, March 6-10, the ECMA has unveiled the nominees for its industry awards, and there are a few names familiar to Newfoundland music fans.

Designer Jud Haynes is in the running for Graphic/Media Artist of the Year, as is St. John's-born multi-ECMA winner CHR!S SM!TH.

Downtown icon Fred's Records is up for Music Merchant of the Year, Mark Neary for Producer of the Year and Dean Stairs is in the running for Studio Engineer of the Year.

The winners will be announced at the MindSea Industry Awards Brunch, presented by FACTOR, on Saturday, March 9 at 10am in Delta Halifax's Baronet Room. The winner of the music award for Producer of the Year will also be named during the brunch. Here is the complete nominees list:


Event of the Year

Festival of Small Halls

Halifax Pop Explosion

Indian River Festival

New Glasgow Riverfront Jubilee



Graphic/Media Artist of the Year


Darcy Campbell

Jud Haynes

Mark Young

Scott Blackburn


Live Sound Engineer of the Year

Danny Thomas

David Hillier

Georgia Richards

Jon Cornwall

Steven “Snickers” Smith


Management/Manager of the Year

Brookes Diamond

GroundSwell Music

Heather Gibson

Jason Burns

Louis Thomas


Media Outlet of the Year

Atlantic Airwaves (CBC)

CBC Mainstreet

East Coast Countdown (Syndicated)

Meet The Music With Jason MacDonald (The Coast 98.7)

The Hawk 101.5


Media Person of the Year

Blaine Morrison

Candy Palmater

Doug Gallant

Jeff Liberty

Jimmie Inch


Music Merchant of the Year

Fred's Records

Malkin Music / Cyber PR

Marcato Digital Solutions

Sound of Pop



Studio Engineer of the Year

Dean Stairs

Diego Medina

Erien Eady-Ward

Jamie Foulds

Mike "Sheppy" Shepherd


Studio of the Year

Lakewind Sound Studios

Soundpark Studios

Studio FMP

The Old Confidence Lodge

Wee House of Music


Venue of the Year

St. Mary's Church

The Carleton Music Bar & Grill

The Company House

The Red Shoe Pub

Trailside Cafe' & Inn


Producer of the Year

Colin Buchanan

Daniel Ledwell

Jeff Reilly

Mark Neary

Natalie MacMaster

Organizations: East Coast Music Association, Fred's, CBC LodgeWee House

Geographic location: Newfoundland, St. John's

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page