Dolter, Hurd among EVA award winners

Staff ~ The Telegram
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Artist Audrey Hurd of St. John’s addresses the audience at The Rooms theatre in St. John’s on Friday night after she was presented with the Emerging Visual Artist Award at the Visual Artists Newfoundland and Labrador’s Excellence in Visual Arts awards ceremony. The awards celebrate the visual arts and recognize the contribution they make to the  culture of the province.
— Photo by
Joe Gibbons/

West Coast artist Tina Dolter, who died last year after a brief illness, was honoured Friday evening for her efforts to help build the province’s visual arts sector.

Dolter, named the winner of the Kippy Goins Award, was one of a handful of artists recognized with Excellence in Visual Arts (EVA) awards during a ceremony at The Rooms.

Presented by Visual Artists Newfoundland and Labrador, the EVA awards are the only ones in the province dedicated to celebrating the visual arts in all media.

Audrey Hurd won the Emerging Artist Award, beating Jonathan O’Dea and Michael Young.

The Large Year Award — recognizing an exceptional year with at least one exhibition — went to Michael Flaherty.

Other artists shortlisted in the category were Ned Pratt and Audrey Feltham.

The Long Haul Award, recognizing a substantial contribution to local visual culture, went to Colette Urban — who beat Lloyd Pretty.

The Critical Eye Award for writing on a Newfoundland and Labrador artist was given to Heather Igloliorte.

There was no shortlist for that award.

Dolter’s partner accepted her award — a piece of art by Michael Pittman — on her behalf.

Others who made the shortlist for the Kippy Goins award were Herb Brown and Community Youth Arts Program.

Winners in the other categories received $1,000.

Organizations: The Rooms.Presented

Geographic location: Newfoundland and Labrador, West Coast

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page