New mysteries at the library

The Telegram
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Like most avid readers, I enjoy a good mystery.

We all have our favorite mystery authors and a number of my favourites have new titles being released in 2014:

Marco Effect

Jussi Adler-Olsen (September 2014)

I started reading Danish author Adler- Olsen’s Department Q mysteries on the recommendation of a friend about a month ago and I am now anxiously awaiting the newest translation.  In the next Department Q story, Det. Carl Mørck and his mysterious Syrian assistant Assad get caught up in a missing persons case.

Adler-Olsen’s Det. Carl Mørck is a wonderfully human protagonist, very good at his job and private life dealing with an almost ex-wife, a teenage stepson and a paraplegic ex colleague.

Destroyer Angel

Nevada Barr (2014)

While camping with friends, U.S. park ranger Anna Pigeon goes off on her own for a solo evening float on the Fox River.  When she comes back, she finds that four thugs, armed with rifles, pistols and knives, have taken the two women and their teenaged daughters captive. With limited resources and no access to the outside world, Anna tracks the kidnappers and their prey. “Destroyer Angel” is No. 18 in the series.

Harbour Street

Ann Cleeves (2014)

I was introduced to Ann Cleeves by the Vera TV series.  Harbour Street is the sixth book in Ann Cleeves’ crime series featuring DI Vera Stanhope and her sidekick, Joe Ashworth.  An investigation into the stabbing of an elegant older lady on a crowded Newcastle metro leads to the Northumberland town of Mardle and into the distant past of the community’s current and past residents.  Cleeves’ Shetland series is equally engaging.

Vertigo 42

Martha Grimes (June 2014)

Scotland Yard superintendent Richard Jury is meeting Tom Williamson at Vertigo 42, a bar on the forty-second floor of an office building in London’s financial district. Tom is convinced his wife, Tess, was murdered 17 years ago.  The inspector in charge of the case was sure Tess’s death was accidental — a direct result of vertigo. Jury agrees to re-examine the case. Two deaths in the past and two in the present keep Jury and sidekick Sergeant Wiggins busy.  Were the deaths accidents? If not, are they connected?

Reykjavik Nights

Arnaldur Indridason (October 2014)

‘Reykjavík Nights’ is a prequel to Inridason’s long-running, acclaimed Icelandic mystery series featuring detective Erlender.  The death of a homeless tramp draws young Erlender into the city’s underworld. “Reykjavik Nights” is the 10th of the popular Reyklavik Murder series.

Buried Angels

Camilla Lackberg (April 2014)

Lackberg’s psychological thrillers feature detective Patrick Hedstrom and his wife, crime writer Erica Falck. One-year-old Ebba is left behind when her parents disappear from their island home off the coast of Sweden. When Ebba and her husband return to the island as adults, their home is targeted by an arsonist and the cold case of her missing parents is reopened. Lackberg’s series will appeal to fans of Jo Nesbo and Steig Larsson.

By Its Cover

Donna Leon (April 2014)

Commissario Guido Brunetti receives a frantic call from the director of a prestigious Venetian library reporting that pages have been stolen out of several rare books. The last person to use the volumes was an American professor from a Kansas university. The problem is the American professor doesn’t exist.  Leon’s popular Brunetti series is set in and around Venice.

For more information, call 737-2133; for library locations and hours call 737-2348.

Organizations: Scotland Yard, Kansas university

Geographic location: Fox River, Newcastle, Northumberland Mardle London Sweden Venice.For

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page

Comments

Comments