Column: Titles to go under the tree

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

On the Shelves

December fast approaches, and with it, the hectic rush that accompanies that time of year.

Soon we will all be embroiled in the hunt for gifts (if we aren’t already) for every person on our list. It should come as no surprise that lots of people love a good book as a gift.

With that in mind I’ve compiled a list of some of the best books to come out this fall, at least one of which is sure to make a great gift for that bookworm on your list.

For fans of Jane Austen and Downton Abbey, there’s “Longbourn,” by Jo Baker.

A reimagined look at “Pride and Prejudice” through the eyes of the servants of the Bennet family, “Longbourn” takes readers below the stairs and into the lives of housemaids and footmen as they navigate their own set of dramas.

“The Circle” is Dave Eggers’ newest and presents a dark vision of Internet sharing and connectedness.

A suspenseful read, the main character goes to work for the world’s largest Internet/social media company and must deal with its increasingly invasive demands.

“Burial Rites,” inspired by a true story, is author Hannah Kent’s tale of a young woman accused of murder in Iceland in 1829.

Set against a stark landscape, this riveting drama sees Agnes, charged with the murder of her former master, sent to live on an isolated farm to await execution.

Delving into the complicated history of the birth of Canada is Joseph Boyden’s “The Orenda.”

This novel explores a period in the mid-1600s as the Hurons, allies of the French, and the Iroquois fight cruel wars over land near the Great Lakes.

For those interested in non-

fiction, one of the biggest books of the fall is sure to be “I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up For Education And Was Shot By The Taliban.”

At 16, Malala Yousafzai has become a symbol for peaceful protest throughout the world and this inspiring work is her story.

 

New sequels

Some great sequels are out this fall from different authors.

Margaret Atwood fans will be thrilled with “MaddAddam,” the conclusion to her dystopian trilogy that started with “Oryx and Crake.”

“Doctor Sleep,” the much anticipated sequel to “The Shining,” has arrived and Stephen King fans will find much to be excited about in this new addition to his lengthy list of works.

Veronica Roth’s “Allegiant” has also landed on shelves, and teen fans of this trilogy will love this closing book about love, sacrifice and human nature.

There are always too many books to list when recommending reads to others, but whatever you pick up, remember to add a book to your gift list for this year.

Don’t forget to stop by your local library to see what new reads are on the shelves.

 

Emily Blackmore is the lending services librarian for the Newfoundland Public Libraries.

Organizations: Orenda, Newfoundland Public Libraries

Geographic location: Iceland, Canada, Crake

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page

Comments

Comments