Visual Arts Awards nominees announced

The Telegram
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Visual Artists Newfoundland and Labrador has announced the nominees for this year's Excellence in Visual Arts Awards.

Kailey Bryan, Malin Enstrom and Mike Gough have been nominated for the Emerging Artist Award, which honours a promising start made by an artist in the early stages of their career.

Will Gill, Philippa Jones and Peter Wilkins are vying for the Large Year Award, which celebrates an artist who has enjoyed an exceptional year, with at least one exhibition and critical recognition.

The Long Haul Award goes to a senior artist who has made a substantial contribution to the visual culture of the province, and the nominees are Donald A. Beaubier, Scott Goudie and Pam Hall.

Nominees for the Kippy Goins Award, which thanks a person or organization for their efforts in sustaining and building the visual arts, are Eastern Edge Gallery, Christina Parker, and the Community Youth Arts Program.

Mireille Eagan, Darren Hynes and Lisa Moore have been nominated for the Critical Eye Award, which recognizes a visual arts writer for an exceptional piece of writing on a local artist.

Most of the awards come with a $1,000 prize. The Kippy Goins Award winner will receive an original artwork by Michael Pittman.

The Excellence in Visual Arts Awards winners will be announced during a ceremony at The Rooms May 23.

Organizations: Community Youth Arts Program.Mireille Eagan, The Rooms

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page