Nobel literature jury to announce winner; Japanese writer favourite

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

STOCKHOLM - After the announcements of three science awards, the Nobel Prizes are turning to literature, one of the most talked-about and emotion-stirring categories of the prestigious awards.

The Swedish Academy will reveal this year's winner today at its headquarters in Stockholm's Old Town.

Academy members aren't giving any hints, though that hasn't stopped people from guessing.

On the Ladbrokes betting site, Japanese writer Haruki Murakami has had the lowest odds this week, along with Peter Nadas of Hungary, Irish author William Trevor and Chinese writer Mo Yan.

Canadian writers Alice Munro and Margaret Atwood are also on the Ladbrokes' list.

European authors have won four of the last five awards, with last year's prize going to Swedish poet Tomas Transtromer.

The prize is worth 8 million kronor, or about $1.2 million.

_ With files from The Canadian Press.

Organizations: Ladbrokes, Swedish Academy, Canadian Press

Geographic location: STOCKHOLM, Hungary

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page