Ennis wins province’s first 2011 ECMA

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Karen Ennis accepts the ECMA for Roots/Traditional Group Recording of the Year in Charlottetown, P.E.I. Thursday night. — Photo by Tara Bradbury/The Telegram

The two sisters of Ennis won this province's first 2011 East Coast Music Award in Charlottetown Thursday night.

Karen Ennis accepted the ECMA for Roots/Traditional Group Recording of the Year on behalf of herself and her sister, Maureen during the MRSB Roots Room concert at the Delta hotel.

The pair was nominated for the award for their latest CD, "Lessons Learned."

This is Ennis' fourth ECMA.

"Three years ago, we spent a year in Nashville and it took that for us to realize just how much we have and how lucky we are here on the east coast," Karen told the audience.

Ennis wasn't the only local act nominated for an award presented Thursday night. St. John's-based Duo Concertante and Shallaway Newfoundland and Labrador Youth Chorus had both been vying for the Classical Recording of the Year award, but lost to New Brunswick soprano Measha Brueggergosman.

Duo Concertante had also been nominated in the Instrumental Recording of the Year category alongside the duo of Carbonear native Duane Andrews and Dwayne Cote of Nova Scotia; the award went to Nova Scotia's Gypsophilia instead.

Ron Hynes had also been nominated for Folk Recording of the Year for his CD "Stealing Genius," but lost to Nova Scotia singer/songwriter David Myles and his album "Turn Time Off."

Newfoundland and Labrador artists have close to 20 awards nominations overall.

The ECMA conference continues in Charlottetown until Sunday night, when it will end with a gala performance and awards show hosted by country star George Canyon.

More ECMA coverage, click here

Organizations: Roots, Traditional Group Recording, Delta hotel Duo Concertante and Shallaway Newfoundland and Labrador Youth Chorus

Geographic location: Charlottetown, Nova Scotia, Nashville St. John's New Brunswick Carbonear Newfoundland and Labrador

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page



Recent comments

  • sherry
    April 16, 2011 - 00:58

    they always give the majority of the awards to ns