Locals win at Atlantic Film Festival

Tara Bradbury
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Telegram file photo of Kenneth Harvey

Local author-turned-filmmaker Kenneth J. Harvey walked away one of the big winners at the Atlantic Film Festival in Halifax this weekend.

Harvey's short film, "I'm 14 and I Hate the World," starring his daughter, Emma Harvey, won the Best Atlantic Short award, sponsored by Kodak. Harvey - who's got a number of other short films in the works - received $3,000 in film stock.

St. John's actor/filmmaker Ruth Lawrence won the Joan Orenstein Award for Outstanding Performance by an Actress for her role in Joel Thomas Hynes' "Clipper Gold." Also starring Des Walsh and produced by Paddy Daly's and Krissy Holmes' Good Lookin' Productions, the film "examines the doleful, downtrodden state of a couple's relationship unfurling against the backdrop of a feed of moose sausages and tea," its synopsis states. This was the premiere of the film, which will also screen at the St. John's Women's International Film Festival next month.

Liz Solo, St. John's musician and artist, was also named a winner at the festival, having been presented with the Newfoundland Joy award for her media arts production "The Machine" last Thursday. Set in a post-apocalyptic future version of St. John's, "The Machine" is a fairytale which uses 16-mm film, digital media and animation.

Halifax filmmaker Michael Melski's "Charlie Zone" was the biggest winner at the film festival, presented with awards for Best Atlantic Feature and Outstanding Direction. Actor Glen Gould won the David Renton Award for Outstanding Performance by an Actor for his role in the film, and Christopher Ball won the Ed Higginson Cinematography Award for his work on it.

Other film festival winners include Tarek Abouamin's "18 Days" (Rex Tasker Documentary Award), Thom Fitzgerald's "Cloudburst" (Audience Award and Michael Weir Award for Best Original Screenplay), Iain McLeod's "Soccer Punch" (Script Development Award), "Afghan Luke" (Award for Sound Editing), "Snow" (Award for Outstanding Music), "Wild Life" (Best Canadian Short), Cafe de Flore (Best Canadian Feature), Mo Kenney and Greg Jackson for "Eden" (10 x 10 RBC Emerging Artist), Robert Santaguida for "Gerrish Lane" (Joy Award), Tim Tracey for "Kreb's Tale" (Helen Hill Animated Joy Award), Amanda Dawn for "Spectres of Shortwave" (Joy Post Award), Richard MacQueen and Michael Ray Fox (First Feature Project), and David MacLeod of Big Motion Pictures (CBC Pioneer Award).

The Atlantic Film Festival, started at the LSPU Hall in St. John's, showcases Atlantic Canadian film, television and music culture.

Organizations: Kodak, RBC, CBC

Geographic location: St. John's, Halifax

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page