Tidy Towns awards presented at convention

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

The towns of Postville, Appleton, Burin and Corner Brook are Award of Excellence winners of the 2012 Tidy Towns competition in the province.

The winners were announced at a ceremony hosted during Municipalities Newfoundland and Labrador annual convention in Gander.

Population category winners include:

Pacquet, population 1-350; North West River, population 351-500; Dover, population 501-700; Flatrock, population 701-1,500; Glovertown, population 1,501-2,600; Carbonear, population 2,601-6,000; and Gander, population 6,000 plus.

Churence Rogers. president of Municipalities Newfoundland and Labrador, said a Tidy Towns win is an outstanding achievement for a municipality and its volunteers.

“It is a great victory for the residents who have commitment and pride for their local environment, and work really hard to keep it clean, tidy and sustainable,” Rogers said in a news release.

Kevin O’Brien, Minister of Municipal Affairs, presented the awards.

“Throughout our province we have so many beautiful and scenic communities,” he said. “The Tidy Towns program honours the towns and community partners who work together maintain their communities and create awareness around the importance of protecting our environment.”

Criteria awards were also given out to the communities for a strong effort in the following areas: St. Lawrence, heritage conservation; Rocky Harbour, environmental action; Wabana, community involvement

A complete list of participating communities can be found on the MNL

website. http://www.municipalitiesnl.com/?Content=Tidy_Towns/2012_Communities



Geographic location: Postville, Corner Brook, Gander.Population North West River Glovertown Carbonear

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page



Recent comments

  • alice tulk
    October 05, 2012 - 15:53

    they must not have too many tims there or none at all