Finalists announced for Winterset Award

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Andy Jones, Greg Malone and Russell Wangersky have been announced as the finalists for the 2012 BMO Winterset Award.

Jones has been nominated for his book, “Jack and Mary in the Land of Thieves” (published by Running the Goat Books and Broadsides), Malone is nominated for “Don’t Tell the Newfoundlanders” (published by Knopf Canada) and Wangersky, The Telegram’s editorial page editor, is nominated for “Whirl Away,” a collection of short stories published by Thomas Allen Publishers.

This is Wangersky’s third Winterset nomination. He was previously nominated for his first short story collection, “The Hour of Bad Decisions,” and won for his novel “The Glass Harmonica.”

The Winterset winner will receive a prize of $10,000, while the finalists will each receive $2,500.

Any book published in 2012 by a Newfoundland and Labrador author (either native-born or resident) were eligible for the award, and 31 books were submitted. This year’s jury members were Eleanor Dawson, Don McKay and Patricia Parsons.

The Winterset award honours the memory of St.John’s-born author and social historian Sandra Fraser-Gwyn, and was established by her husband Richard Gwyn in 2000.

The winner will be announced during a ceremony at Government House March 28. The three finalists will read from their books and take questions during a public reading and reception at The Rooms theatre March 27 at 7 p.m.



Organizations: Hour of Bad Decisions, Government House, The Rooms theatre

Geographic location: Canada, Newfoundland and Labrador

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page