Local music industry professionals win ECMAs

Tara Bradbury
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.


A handful of locals in the music industry were presented with East Coast Music Association awards this morning, at an ECMA week industry brunch at the Delta Halifax hotel.

Jud Haynes won the ECMA for graphic/media artist of the year, while Louis Thomas was presented with the award for  Management/Manager of the Year. Fred's Records won the award for Music Merchant of the Year.

Musician Neil Bishop was presented with the Stompin' Tom Award, along with Claudine Theriault, Jon Matthews and Joe Peter MacLean.

Other award winners included David Hillier (live sound engineer of the year), Jamie Foulds (studio engineer of the year), Daniel Ledwell (producer of the year), Jim Power (volunteer of the year) and Cathy Porter (musician's achievement award).

As well, 12 surprise awards were presented in honour of the 25th anniversary of the ECMAs, to people who have consistently contributed to the association through their involvement over the years. Recipients are Glen Tilley, Louis Thomas, Sheri Jones, Peter Hendrickson, Shelley Nordstrom, Mike Campbell, Andree Gracie, Max MacDonald, Brookes Diamond, Geoff D'Eon, Bob Mersereau and Bruce Morel.

More ECMAs will be handed out throughout the weekend, which will culminate in a gala concert Sunday night at Halifax's Cunard Centre.

Organizations: East Coast Music Association, Delta Halifax hotel, Fred's Cunard Centre

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page