Arts awards nominees announced

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

The Craft Council of Newfoundland and Labrador and visual arts curator/writer Patricia Grattan will be inducted into the Fortis Properties Arts Hall of Honour next month.

The induction will take place during the Newfoundland and Labrador Arts Council’s annual Arts Awards Show and Gala, set to take place at MUN’s D.F. Cook Recital Hall in St. John’s May 18.

A celebration of the arts in Newfoundland and Labrador, artists of all disciplines are recognized through the presentation of six awards. The nominees were announced Thursday morning:

• Memorial University Arts in Education award: musician/writer Ed Kavanagh, dancer Lynn Panting, musician Susan Quinn

• Cox and Palmer Arts Achievement award: visual artist Scott Goudie, visual artist Gerry Porter, filmmaker Nigel Markham

• CBC Emerging Artist 2012: visual artist Michael Gough, musician Andrew James O’Brien, filmmaker/writer Wanda Nolan

• BMO Bank of Montreal Artist of the Year: musician Duane Andrews, musicians The Once, visual artist Michael Pittman

As well, the Patron of the Arts award will be presented to John and Peggy Fisher.

The gala will be hosted by actress Krystin Pellerin of CBC’s “Republic of Doyle,” and will feature performances by Sherman Downey and the Ambiguous Case, Andy Jones and Nathan Cook.

Artist Veselina Tomova is creating pieces of art to be presented to the award winners.

“It’s always exciting to look back over the past year, … and this year’s will feature a packed program,” said Reg Winsor, executive director of the arts council. “The talent and professionalism embodied in the vibrant provincial arts and cultural community is energetic and to be applauded.”

Organizations: Craft Council of Newfoundland and Labrador, CBC, Fortis Properties Arts Hall Newfoundland and Labrador Arts Council Memorial University Arts BMO Bank of Montreal Artist of the Year

Geographic location: Newfoundland and Labrador

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page