Government announces school board transition committee

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Education Minister Clyde Jackman — Telegram file photo

The provincial government today announced members of a transition committee that will oversee the consolidation of the province’s four English-language school boards.

Lorne Wheeler, a former deputy minister of Education, has been appointed chair of the committee.

Other members include the chairs and one additional trustee from each of the four current English-language school boards. They are:

• Goronwy Price (chair) and Guy Elliott, Labrador School Board;

• Donald Brown (chair) and Nada Borden, Western School Board;

• John George (chair) and Kim Cheeks, Nova Central School Board; and,

• Milton Peach (chair) and George Sheppard, Eastern School Board.


“Each of these volunteer school board representatives has agreed to assist in the transitioning process to ensure the delivery of educational programs and services to students, teachers and staff will flow smoothly in September,” said Education Minister Clyde Jackman. “The formation of this committee, and the work of this committee, will further our commitment to put the maximum available resources where they belong, in our schools and in our classrooms, for the benefit of students.”

Jackman also said the position of CEO for the provincial English-language school board will be advertised this week.

The news release said that since 2004, when school board administration was last consolidated, enrolment has declined by about 14,000 students — or 17 per cent.

This story has been edited from an earlier published version to correct information contained within.

Organizations: Labrador School Board, Nova Central School Board

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page



Recent comments

  • Fed Up With Tory Hack Appointees
    April 24, 2013 - 18:39

    Lone Wheeler and Milton Peach. Good old Tory candidates and staffers.When will this crap end?