N.L. author on book award shortlist

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

"Finton Moon," by Gerard Collins

Newfoundland author Gerard Collins is on a shortlist for this year's Sunburst Award Society awards for his latest book and first novel, "Finton Moon," published by Killick Press.

The society provides this description of his book on its website:

"Growing up in the 1970s in the outport town of Darwin, Newfoundland—a place connected to, but remote from, the rest of the province—Finton Moon realizes from an early age that he is different. He seems to have the ability to heal the wounds of himself, and others; an ability which sets him even further apart from his community, and the people around him, even as he desperately wants to belong. The author grounds Finton Moon in warts-and-all reality, his lyrical storytelling creating a vivid and realistic world full of all-too-human characters, where poverty and violence exist alongside friendship and love, and where Finton must learn to find his way. It is a magical and compelling novel, like a long-form version of a Maritime ballad."

Collins is a writer and teacher whose award-winning fiction has appeared in various journals. Finton Moon is his first novel. He lives in St. John’s, and teaches English Language and Literature at Memorial University.

The short-listed works in Sunburst's adult category are:

• Finton Moon by Gerard Collins (Killick Press);

• Maleficium by Martine Desjardins; translated by Fred A. Reed and David Homel (Talonbooks);

• Over the Darkened Landscape by Derryl Murphy (Fairwood Press);

• The Blondes by Emily Schultz (Doubleday Canada);

• Westlake Soul by Rio Youers (ChiZine Publications).

The short-listed works in the young adult category are:

• Bright’s Light by Susan Juby (HarperCollins);

• Pirate Cinema by Cory Doctorow (Tor Teen);

• The Green Man by Michael Bedard (Tundra Books);

• Seraphinaby Rachel Hartman (Doubleday Canada);

• Rebel Heart by Moira Young (Doubleday Canada).

 The awards will be presented in the fall.

 The jurors for the 2013 award are: Rebecca Bradley, Tony Burgess, Shari Lapeña, Barbara Roden and Leon Rooke.

 Award winners receive a cash prize of $1,000 as well as a hand-crafted medallion which incorporates the Sunburst logo.

The Sunburst Award takes its name from the debut novel of the late Phyllis Gotlieb, one of the first published authors of contemporary Canadian speculative fiction.

Additional information about the Sunburst Award, nominees and jurors, as well as previous awards, eligibility and the selection process can be found online at www.sunburstaward.org.

Organizations: Sunburst Award Society, Killick Press.The society, Doubleday Canada Killick Press Talonbooks Fairwood Press HarperCollins

Geographic location: Newfoundland, Darwin

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page



Recent comments

  • Townie Girl
    July 19, 2013 - 12:34

    Gerard was one of my professors at MUN. Not only is he an excellent writer, but a great teacher as well. Best of luck :)