Newfoundland authors shine on Giller list

Tara Bradbury
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Of the 13 Canadian authors on this year’s Scotiabank Giller Prize, four of them are from this province.

The Giller is the country’s most prestigious and lucrative literary prizes, which awards $50,000 annually to the author of the best Canadian novel or short story collection published in English. Each of the finalists receives $5,000.

This year’s finalists include Michael Winter for “Minister Without Portfolio,” Lisa Moore for “Caught,” Wayne Johnston for “The Son of a Certain Woman,” and Elisabeth De Mariaffi for “How to Get Along With Women.”

Others are Dennis Bock for “Going Home Again,” Joseph Boyden for “The Orenda,” Lynn Coady for “Hellgoing,” Craig Davidson for “Cataract City,” David Gilmour for “Extraordinary,” Wayne Grady for “Emancipation Day,” Louis Hamelin for “October 1970,” Claire Messud for “The Woman Upstairs,” and Dan Vyleta for “The Crooked Maid.”

The books were chosen from 147 titles submitted by 61 publishers from across the country.

This year’s Giller jurors are authors Esi Edugyan, Jonathan Lethem and Margaret Atwood. The shortlist will be announced at an event in Toronto Oct. 8, and the winner will be presented with the prize during a gala ceremony Nov. 5, hosted by Jian Ghomeshi and broadcast live on CBC TV.

Organizations: Orenda, CBC

Geographic location: Newfoundland, Toronto

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page



Recent comments

  • Darrell
    September 16, 2013 - 21:22


  • Enid O'Brien
    September 16, 2013 - 15:59

    Congratulations to those who made the short list. I sincerely hope one of you wins the Giller prize. It is an honour to be nominated.