Seven more members joining English-language school board

The Telegram
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

The eight new trustees of the Newfoundland and Labrador English School Board will be getting some company at the next board meeting, according to a news release from the provincial Department of Education.

Seven new trustees will join them at the meeting scheduled for Oct. 4.

“All of the additional trustees were members of the previous elected boards, and have agreed to serve on the provincial board until an election is held next year,” Education Minister Clyde Jackman said in the release. “I am pleased these individuals have agreed to volunteer in this capacity, as the continuity will help ensure the transition to one English-language school board continues to go smoothly this year.”

The new trustees are: Gary Baikie of Labrador; Wayne Lee of western Newfoundland; Newman Harris of Central Newfoundland; and  John McCarthy, Eric Snow, Fred Douglas and Rick Martin of eastern Newfoundland.

The trustees already on the board are: Goronwy Price and Guy Elliott of Labrador; Donald Brown and Nada Borden of western Newfoundland; John George and Kim Cheeks of central Newfoundland; and Milton Peach and George Sheppard of eastern Newfoundland.

The board members will select a chair. Jackman said the new trustees were appointed based on student enrolment by region.

The new English-language school board became effective Sept. 1. The trustees will serve until 2014, when an election will take place.

Organizations: Newfoundland and Labrador English School Board, Department of Education, Eastern Newfoundland.The board

Geographic location: Newfoundland

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page