Northeast Avalon mayors meeting in St. John's

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Mayors representing several neighbouring municipalities in the Northeast Avalon region will get together Friday in St. John's to discuss matters of mutual interest.

St. John's Mayor Dennis O'Keefe. — Telegram file photo

According to a City of St. John's news release, Mayor Dennis O'Keefe will host six of his regional counterparts at city hall — Dan Bobbett (Paradise), John Kennedy (Logy Bay-Middle Cove-Outer Cove), Ken McDonald (Conception Bay South), Randy Simms (Mount Pearl), Ralph Tapper (Torbay), and Moses Tucker (Portugal Cove-St. Philip's).

Matters up for discussion will include the long-in-development Northeast Avalon Regional Municipal Plan, efforts to establish a municipal-provincial fiscal framework, the feasibility of a regional transportation plan, and the state of the regional water supply.

The mayors will meet with reporters following the conclusion of the two-hour meeting, which is scheduled to start at noon Friday.

Geographic location: St. John's, Avalon, Logy Bay Conception Bay Mount Pearl Portugal Cove Northeast Avalon Regional Municipal Plan

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page