Finalists announced for 2013 BMO Winterset Award

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

The Newfoundland and Labrador Arts Council has announced the finalists for the 2013 BMO Winterset Award.

Government House in St. John’s. — Telegram file photo

The finalists are: Paul Bowdring for “The Strangers’ Gallery,” Vagrant Press (imprint of Nimbus Publishing), Halifax; Carmelita McGrath for “Escape Velocity,” Icehouse Poetry (imprint of Goose Lane Editions), Fredericton, New Brunswick; and Lisa Moore for “Caught,” House of Anansi Press, Toronto.

The award celebrates excellence in Newfoundland and Labrador writing. The winner will be announced at Government House on Thursday, March 20.

The winner will receive a prize of $10,000 and the two finalists will each receive $2,500.

Books in any genre published in 2013 were eligible for the award. A total of 25 works by Newfoundland and Labrador authors (either native-born or resident) were submitted by publishers from across the country.

The jury consisted of Ruth Lawrence and Agnes Walsh.

The Winterset Award honours the memory of Sandra Fraser Gwyn, St. John’s-born social historian, prize-winning author, and passionate promoter of Newfoundland and Labrador arts. Her husband, journalist and author Richard Gwyn established the award in 2000. It’s named after the historic house on Winter Avenue in St. John’s where Sandra grew up.

 The three finalists will read from their works and answer questions at a public reading and reception at 7 p.m. Wednesday, March 19, at The Rooms (in the Theatre), 9 Bonaventure Ave. in St. John’s.

Organizations: Goose Lane Editions, Anansi Press, Government House The Rooms

Geographic location: Newfoundland and Labrador, Halifax, Fredericton New Brunswick

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page