Mercer leads the way in winners from this province

Tara Bradbury
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

‘The Grand Seduction,’ ‘This Hour has 22 Minutes,’ Cochrane/Pickett win Canadian Screen Awards

Rick Mercer is this province’s favourite among the academy this year, his long-running show taking home three Canadian Screen Awards.

Mercer was one of a number of Newfoundlanders nominated for the awards, which were presented in Toronto over the past week. The final awards were handed out during a televised awards gala Sunday night, with TV series “Orphan Black” and “Call Me Fitz” and films “Gabrielle” and “Enemy” the big winners

Mercer won awards for Best Performance in a Variety or Sketch Comedy Program or Series and Best Variety or Sketch Comedy Program or Series (with Gerald Lunz and Tom Stanley) for “Rick Mercer Report, which also won the award for Best Direction in a Variety or Sketch Comedy Program or Series.

“The Grand Seduction,” produced by Barbara Doran and Roger Frappier and filmed in Trinity Bight in the summer of 2012, had earned four nominations, and took home one award: Gordon Pinsent won the golden trophy for Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role.

A team of 15 writers on CBC’s “This Hour Has 22 Minutes” won the award for Best Writing in a Variety or Sketch Comedy Program or Series, including Cathy Jones, Greg Thomey, Mary Walsh, Shaun Majumder, Susan Kent and Mark Critch.

“It was great to win for ‘22’ after 22 years on the air,” said Critch, who also co-starred with Pinsent in “The Grand Seduction.” “But the biggest thrill for me was Gordon’s win. He is so wonderful in the movie and I couldn’t be happier for him.”

CBC NL’s David Cochrane and Paul Pickett won the award for Best Reportage, Local for their coverage of Operation Roadrunner, one of the largest drug operations in the history of the province. Their coverage also took home the silver medal at last year’s Atlantic Journalism Awards.

Other locals nominated for Canadian Screen Awards this year included filmmaker Joel Heath, film producer Annette Clarke, writer Sherry White, and TV hosts Tom Harrington, Chris Hyndman and Andrew Younghusband.

The awards combine the former Genie Award for film and Gemini Award for TV, with additional categories for digital media.

Twitter: @tara_bradbury

Organizations: CBC

Geographic location: Toronto

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page