Choral director earns ECMA for industry contributions

Tara Bradbury
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

The East Coast Music Association honoured local choral director Kellie Walsh with an award this morning.

Walsh was named as winner of one of four Stompin' Tom Awards at an industry brunch in Charlottetown, P.E.I.

The award is given to those who have made a longtime contribution to the Atlantic Canadian music industry.

The other recipients were Bob Mersereau, Flo Sampson and Susan Hunter.

Walsh is the founder and artistic director of Lady Cove Women's Choir, co-founder and artistic director of Newman Sound Men's Choir, and artistic director of Shallaway: Newfoundland and Labrador Youth in Chorus.

Walsh's ECMA award was the third for Newfoundland and Labrador this weekend: Craig Young and Duane Andrews won the ECMA for Traditional Instrumental Recording of the Year for "Charlie's Boogie," while Clark Winslow Ross won the Classical Recording of the Year award for "Lamentations."

The 2014 ECMAs wrap up tomorrow night with a gala awards show, hosted by Seamus O'Regan.

The original version included inaccurate information supplied to The Telegram by a source.

Geographic location: Charlottetown, Newfoundland and Labrador

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page



Recent comments

  • John Adams
    April 05, 2014 - 21:58

    Correction: Clark Winslow Ross won the Classical COMPOSITION of the Year award for "Lamentations." Not Classical Recording as your article indicates.