EVA Awards given out

The Telegram
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

The 9th annual Excellence in Visual Arts (EVA) awards took place Friday night. The awards recognize the achievements in the visual arts and the contribution they make to the province’s culture.

Teresa Kachanoski, board chairwoman of Visual Artists of Newfoundland and Labrador, speaks at the EVA (Excellence in Visual Arts) award ceremony at The Rooms Friday evening. The awards recognize the achievements of visual artists in the province as well as their contribution to the culture of the province.

The Long Haul award recognizes a substantial contribution from a senior artist. This year it went to Pam Hall.

The Large Year Award went to Will Gill for having a great year with at least one exhibition and some critical recognition.

The Kippy Goins Award — named for small pieces of wood thrown on a fire to keep it going is given to somebody who has helped build and sustain the visual arts sector. This year the recipient was the Community Youth Arts Program.

The Critical Eye Award recognizes a writer who has written about a local artist. Lisa Moore took the award this year.

The Emerging Artist Award went to Kailey Bryan.


  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page