• 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page

Comments

Comments

Recent comments

  • a business man
    March 26, 2013 - 09:49

    The author is wrong. A general election should not be called. Harper won a commanding MAJORITY in the last election. There is no reason for him call an election now. He has noting to gain strategically. He has all the power and I am proud to be one of the voters that gave him his majority. The EI changes, the CETA....these are all things that are good for me. I went door knocking for the Conservatives last election and I will be doing the same because I want the party that serves my interests to win.

  • Jay
    March 24, 2013 - 19:32

    We certainly don't need a general election. Do you really think that anybody in the rest of Canada sees any significance to this bye-election. The Liberals will win. Not because of any wrong-doing by the Conservative, but because it's a safe Liberal seat. Only Todd Russell could have lost that seat for the Liberals in the last election.

  • I am quite confident Dianne we have exhausted the Honey Treatment.
    March 24, 2013 - 14:58

    Dianne how do you decipher what is Honey and Vinegar treatment? I do believe we have exhuasted the Honey treatmen on Ottawa. The province of Newfoundland and Labrador's politicians down through the past 64 years have given away every natural resource that we have so far developed to other parts of Canada and the World so that they can keep their economies percolating. For insance we gave our coveted "Fish Resource" to Ottawa to maintain and sustain for us and it turned around and used it as the conducter to generate International Trade for Canada's Agriculture and Manufacturing sectors. I will list a few of those resources for you. The Iron Ore Resource of which our province produces 93% of all that ore that is produced in Canada has been sent out in the raw state so that Canada's Automobile Manufacturing Industry could flourish. Our province's Nickel Ore, the largest find in the World was appointed to Sudbury, Ontario and Thompson, Manitoba for a 30 years period so that these two cities could keep their economyies going and keep their workers employed. Our Hydroelectric Energy, namely the Upper Churchill, the largest in the World at the time, produces 5500 megat watts of energy and has since 1969, was appointed to Quebec Hydro and our Oil is shipped out in the unprocessed state to the United States. There are other commodities as well, but those alone represent Tens of Billions of dollars leaving our province annually for other locations to percolate while our own economy didn't materialize and it died on the economic vine, simply because our natural resources were shipped out in the raw state. The politicians who represented Newfoundland and Labrador over the past 64 years should have been brought to the International Court at Hague to be tried for economic genocide. Dianne I am not so stupid as to think this is not the way that the Ottawa government wanted Newfoundland and Labrador's natural resources to be dispensed so as to create a vibrant Central Canada economy with lots of immigrants to boost its population . Everything has flourished from Nova Scotia to Manitoba from the benefits of our raw resources, and our fish resource has enabled the Agriculture Industry to flourish right across Canada. Besides, even though, we are very strategically important and proved ourselves in the Second World War because of our strategic location in Canada, WE DON'T even have a Military or Naval base here. If we did it could represent a Multi-Million dollar economy for our province.

  • Robert Viera
    March 24, 2013 - 11:22

    Excellent article, but I think we ought to wait for the outcome of Elections Canada's investigations into 'electioneering trickery' in the last election before we have another general election.

  • John Thompson
    March 24, 2013 - 10:50

    Yes, let's be nice to the PM while he dismantles the democratic process. He's just flesh and blood 'Diane' he don't walk on water and he is not beyond criticism.

  • The politicians who represented Newfoundland and Labrador over the past sixty-four years should be carted off to the International Court at the Hague to be be tried for economic genocide.
    March 24, 2013 - 08:32

    Dianne how do you decipher what is Honey and Vinegar treatment? The province of Newfoundland and Labrador's politicians down through the past 64 years have given away every natural resource that we have so far developed to other parts of Canada and the World so that they can keep their economies percolating. For insance we gave our coveted "Fish Resource" to Ottawa to maintain and sustain for us and it turned around and used it as the conducter to generate International Trade for Canada's Agriculture and Manufacturing sectors. I will list a few of those resources for you. The Iron Ore Resource of which our province produces 93% of all that ore that is produced in Canada has been sent out in the raw state so that Canada's Automobile Manufacturing Industry could flourish. Our province's Nickel Ore, the largest find in the World was appointed to Sudbury, Ontario and Thompson, Manitoba for a 30 years period so that these two cities could keep their economyies going and keep their workers employed. Our Hydroelectric Energy, namely the Upper Churchill, the largest in the World at the time, produces 5500 megat watts of energy and has since 1969, was appointed to Quebec Hydro and our Oil is shipped out in the unprocessed state to the United States. There are other commodities as well, but those alone represent Tens of Billions of dollars leaving our province annually for other locations to percolate while our own economy didn't materialize and it died on the economic vine, simply because our natural resources were shipped out in the raw state. The politicians who represented Newfoundland and Labrador over the past 64 years should have been brought to the International Court at Hague to be tried for economic genocide. Dianne I am not so stupid as to think this is not the way that the Ottawa government wanted Newfoundland and Labrador's natural resources to be dispensed so as to create a vibrant Central Canada economy with lots of immigrants to boost its population . Everything has flourished from Nova Scotia to Manitoba from the benefits of our raw resources, and our fish resource has enabled the Agriculture Industry to flourish right across Canada. Besides, even though, we are very strategically important and proved ourselves in the Second World War because of our strategic location in Canada, WE DON'T even have a Military or Naval base here. If we did it could represent a Multi-Million dollar economy for our province.

  • Jay
    March 23, 2013 - 18:19

    "Call a general election," says the great prophet of the north. What a joke. Do you really thnk that the politicians and voters in the rest of Canada give two hoots about a seat in Labrador,. Of course the Liberals will win. It's been a safe seat for them since Confederation. Only a moron like Todd Russell could have lost it in the first place. All the win means is that the Liberals have won back their safe seat. Anybody who seriously tries to read anything more into it than that is delusional .

  • Diane
    March 23, 2013 - 09:47

    I for one do not want another general election! One thing we have to realize here in NL is that our opinions are not necessarily followed by others around the country! It's kinda funny if you look at it! We treat Harper like a dog and then expect him to treat us like kings! We are getting what we voted for...which was a few MP's who have no say at all. Ask anyone in other countries and they commend Harper for bringing us through the latest recession! Oh yeah and he is pretty popular in the West too...and Ontario is looking pretty good too. Just a reminder to people in this province...You get more with HONEY than VINEGAR!

    • Corporate Psycho
      March 24, 2013 - 15:01

      Speak for yourself Diane. Go back to the mainland.

    • Chris
      March 24, 2013 - 20:34

      " Ask anyone in other countries and they commend Harper for bringing us through the latest recession!"...In your dreams Diane. Canada weathered the recession thanks to Paul Martin. When Martin was the Minister of Finance the five major Canadian Banks wanted to merge with major US banks, their rationale being 'not big enough to compete on world markets' and wanted to merge to become more competitive. Paul Martin refused to allow this to happen. This action enabled Canadian Banks to survive the near global economic disaster. Harpo had ABSOLUTELY NOTHING to do with it. And "he (Harper) is pretty popular in the West too". By the West, I presume you mean Alberta. I live in BC (the real West), and I can tell you Harper will be toast, in this province, in the next federal election, just like the BC Liberals.

    • a business man
      March 26, 2013 - 10:08

      Honestly, no individual has the right to tell another what to think or where do go. Dianne is entitled to her opinion, no matter if it is right or wrong. Telling her to go to the mainland is unacceptable and pointless. She can stay where she is and vote as she wishes. So can I. My most successful business interests are in Ontario and Alberta. So for me, Ontario and Alberta are more important to me than is Newfoundland. That said, I am a Newfoundland citizen, born and raised, and I have the right to vote as I see fit. When voting, I do not vote for the best interests of Canada, and I do not vote for the best interests of Newfoundland. I cast my ballot for ME - for the party with the platform that serves my interests. To me, Ontario and Alberta are far more important than Newfoundland, so I cast my vote based on what is best for Ontario and Alberta. Like it or not, I have the right to do so. I am happy that Newfoundland and Labrador's politicians through the past 64 years have given away every natural resource that Newfoundland has developed to other parts of Canada and the World so that they can keep their economies percolating. That is what I want from a provincial government, as a taxpayer and citizen. The economies of central Canada, and the USA, and Europe are far more important to me than is the economy of Newfoundland. I am happy that Newfoundland gave away the fish, the iron ore, the nickel ore, and the hydro electricity. I am happy that those resources were shipped out in the raw state because it contributed to the development of the economies that are more important to ME. However, none of this is economic genocide, rather, it is democracy. The reality is that Newfoundland is so few voters that the views of Newfoundlanders really make no difference on the federal stage. In short, I am happy with this government and happy with the use of Newfoundland's resources. BUT before someone tells me to leave the province, I will reiterate that I am a taxpayer, citizen and voter, and I am merely expressing my opinion in accordance with my democratic rights. I am allowed to want Ontario and Alberta to thrive while Newfoundland dies. That is my right, no matter who agrees or disagrees. In conclusion, I agree with Dianne's post below, and I completely support her right, and everyone's right to think and support whatever they want.