• 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page

Comments

Comments

Recent comments

  • My Name Here
    January 02, 2014 - 16:35

    Forget the pig, chicken & cow argument. The EU kills 10s of millions of farmed raised animals per year....for fur. It is a billion euro industry. Through out North America the fur industry is worth 100s of millions. Every year in Toronto the North American fur auctions are held. Wild and farmed raised fur is sold. What is galling is that EU fur will be imported and sold in Canada. EU nations will come and buy North American wild fur as well..... The ASPCA just paid the owners of Ringling Bros 10 million US $.due to a RICO case. HSUS are also going through that RICO case and are expected to pay double.......they both got caught paying people to lie about animal cruelty at Ringling.

  • Hypocrisy at its Worse.......
    December 30, 2013 - 17:51

    Kev, no they don't! Like Paul Watson said in an interview with CBC's Barbara Frum in 1970, the seal is the only animal that has the ability to inflame people to the point where they will part with their money for the Animal Welfare collection plate simply because the seal has an omnipresent tear in its eyes that gives it the appearance of it being sad. Please listen to the interview in the address below: The interview is 8 lines below on THESEALFISHERY.COM site. Paul Watson Interview (8 min 43 sec) Description

  • Petertwo
    December 28, 2013 - 06:53

    I disagree, David, the sad part is expecting approval from what are essentially bullies. People here are very sensitive to others,much more so than others are to the people living a real life in rural areas. Maybe if the sealers just get on with sealing, we could support them. Seal is highly nutritious. As for vegetarianism why be prejudiced against killing animals for food, don't veggies have a life too? At least animals are not lying around on store counters slowly dying and rotting. In any event there would never be enough veggies for everyone to have a sound nutritional life with farm lands disappearing to development. The biggest vegetarians on the planet, elephants, are facing extinction through human encroachment into their feeding areas.

    • david
      December 28, 2013 - 15:53

      Okey dokey. You join the others in banging your head against that wall. I said my piece.

  • TaprootCanada
    December 27, 2013 - 18:01

    I think you're missing the larger point of destroying natural wildlife populations versus harming domesticated animals. There are more issues with the seal hunt than just the animal cruelty argument.

  • Robert
    December 27, 2013 - 17:12

    Well written article and I accept the point being made! The weaving of the seal fishery into the article will take some more thinking but it surely attracted those who insist on keeping their blinders tied on tight. Everyone is entitled to their opinion and I would defend any opinion offered still there are some who deserve to be challenged! I always get a little itchy when I hear the veggie people chirp; Sir Paul comes to mind! It seems they think they've got global issues resolved. "Eat veggies" save the seal/chicken/livestock they all squawk! But I have to wonder what used to grow in that farmers field and what animal called that woodland home. You see very few of us live in a cave, go around naked and eat rocks. And as such we are part of something that consumes........that is life!

  • yehadut
    December 27, 2013 - 11:37

    This is a strong argument for vegetarianism (at least in the modern world, where meat and eggs are factory farmed). Meat-eaters are all hypocrites, I suppose, for opposing animal cruelty but paying for it at mealtime. But it is certainly no defense of seal hunting, which doesn't just kill but does so in a cruel matter. You can't blame animal rights groups for choosing winnable battles to fight.

    • david
      December 27, 2013 - 15:38

      Those who are too weak-minded to survive deserve their fate.....too bad they aren't satisfied with doing so to just themselves anymore.

    • david
      December 28, 2013 - 10:26

      If by "argument" you mean "organized campaign of manipulation and deceit", then going veg might not be as enlightened a choice as you think....

  • david
    December 27, 2013 - 10:39

    The only thing more sad than the way the seal hunt was allowed to become such an uber-effective, fact-devoid marketing touchstone the world over, is the refusal of Newfoundlanders to face the fact that the war was lost years ago....and THAT really was the 'slaughter'. Rehashing it over and over and over again, using new analogies or metaphors or facts has no purpose. They won. Except for mass extinction of seals by starvation, there's just no putting the toothpaste back in the tube. But spending any more time and money on this is simply insult after injury.

  • Hypocrisy at its Worse. Let us Stop the Hypocrisy!
    December 27, 2013 - 09:23

    It is Hypocrisy at its worse that is being demonstrated annually by those so called Animal Rights Groups. If they were honest people Would They Not be seriously fighting for the lives of the animals harvested in the cruelest manner for the cruelest meats of all 'veal and foie gras' that is eaten by the likes of those rich stars and the front line of the so-called Animal Rights People? The very ones we see as the face of the Campaign are on the receiving end of earning big salaries annually from the collection plates of the campaign that brings in hundreds of Millions of dollars?

    • Kev
      December 28, 2013 - 21:06

      You do realize that the same groups that oppose the seal hunt tend to oppose all hunting and animal farming for human consumption, right?

  • PeterTwo
    December 27, 2013 - 07:58

    I agree, seals have a life, a real life, animals bred for food do not have a life at all, unless they be free range. I've often wondered about the mentality of those early Americans slaughtering the buffalo, nearly to extinction, then bringing in cows for food, with all that healthy meat already there for the taking. Boggles the mind. Watching extreme ferreting on You Tube as they cleared out a rabbit warren before the rabbits took over the farmer's land entirely, legally harvesting excess rabbits for sale. In Europe, the UK and the USA wild hogs in large numbers are taken before they over run the natural forests and farmlands, also being prolific at breeding, and also sold for their meat. The hypocrisy of these various nations where the seal harvest is concerned is utterly ridiculous, in fact downright pathetic in my opinion. Oh yeah, nearly forgot. California culls sea lions because they eat "their" wild pacific salmon and steelhead salmon(used to be trout before being re-classified).