• 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page

Comments

Comments

Recent comments

  • Jack from Holyrood
    April 12, 2011 - 08:47

    Harbourmaster, again you are overlooking some facts. The 20% you mention is at one point in time and it does not take in consideration the power that will be required for the Hydomet plant. Holyrood will not produce power when Muskrat Falls is developed but will act as a "distribution" station.

  • Richard
    April 10, 2011 - 18:56

    Harbourmaster asks a sensible question: ''Why is Newfoundland and Labrador getting ripped off when we own Muskrat Falls?'' NL is not getting ripped off, but the taxpayers and rate payers are. We're being charged an arm and a leg because there is no other market for this power, and nobody is going to pay for the construction, production and transmission except those who can be forced to pay - i.e. the taxpayers and ratepayers of NL. There only 500,000 of us, so it's a pretty steep bill when you spread it around.

  • Jack Swinimer
    April 10, 2011 - 16:32

    Harbourmaster, Obviously you are not from the Conception Bay area, otherwise you would be aware of the harmful toxins from the Holyrood Thermal Generating Station. Nalcor and the Provincial Government have acknowledged that scrubbers and particulate removal equipment must be instilled ( cost $500/$600 Million ) if this facility is to continue, This equipment has been instilled in Nova Scotia.

  • Jack from Holyrood
    April 10, 2011 - 15:09

    Harbourmaster, obviously you don't live in the Conception Bay where harmful toxins have resulted in many health problems and deaths. In it's 2007 Energy Report Nalcor and the Provincial Government have acknowledged that the Thermal Generating Station cannot continue unless scrubbers and particulate removal equipment are installed. Cost would be $500/$600 Million. Incidentialy scrubbers and particle removal equipment have already been installed in Nova Scotia.

    • HarbourMaster
      April 10, 2011 - 19:06

      I hear what your are saying Jack from Holyrood. The $500M to $600M is small potatoes compared to the $6500M to $7000M (plus plus) required to build Muskrat Falls. We would be better off financially if we upgraded Holyrood and developed some small hydro nuggets on the island. If we supplemented these with wind power we could shut Holyrood down altogether. Right now the Holyrood plant is already cut back substantially only proving 20% of our electricty requirements at peak time. To pump up Nalcors economics they have overstated the electricty demands that we will have going forward. In addition even when Nalcor comes on line Nalcor have said that they will leave Holyrood in operation as a back up. As a result they will have to upgrade the plant anyhow to keep it operational.

  • Speak Up and Speak Up now
    April 09, 2011 - 16:28

    I am not against this proposed development per se but I am against it if we, Newfoundlanders and Labradorians will be paying more than the province of Nova Scotia for our power. If that will be the case, it will be akin to the rip off by Quebec Hydro, not as much of a rip off, but still a rip-off. Let us get our cards on the tables and ask the questions now before the proposed development goes ahead, or else the only ones who will benefit from this will be the ones who are orchestrating the deal.

  • Speak Up and Speak Up now
    April 09, 2011 - 16:28

    I am not against this proposed development per se but I am against it if we, Newfoundlanders and Labradorians will be paying more than the province of Nova Scotia for our power. If that will be the case, it will be akin to the rip off by Quebec Hydro, not as much of a rip off, but still a rip-off. Let us get our cards on the tables and ask the questions now before the proposed development goes ahead, or else the only ones who will benefit from this will be the ones who are orchestrating the deal.

  • HarbourMaster
    April 09, 2011 - 12:23

    The above article talks about the price per kw hour from Nalcor being $0.143 (we are currently paying about $0.095). What it doesn't say is that these are the wholesale prices. When Nfld Power takes this electricity from Nalcor and distributes it to our homes they will add another 4 to 5 cents in effect doubling our current monthly electricity bill. I am retired and cannot afford to pay twice what I am currently paying while Nova Scotia is getting our power for 40% less. Why is Newfoundland and Labrador getting ripped off when we own Muskrat Falls? We should be getting it cheaper right ??? If Nova Scotia can produce their power for $0.10 using fossel fuels why don't we just keep Holyrood operating? Someone's making money here at our expense!

  • Taxpayer
    April 09, 2011 - 08:46

    The government speaks of needs out to 2067, but don't we already have recall rights on Churchill Falls excess power and in 2043 doesn't all the power come to the province. Or are we going to subsidize the government by letting all that power go elsewhere.