• 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page

Comments

Comments

Recent comments

  • Dennis Wilson
    July 04, 2011 - 20:40

    How about St Johns Frostbite

  • Reid
    July 04, 2011 - 17:02

    NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NOP NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO to the "Ice Caps" name or anything else with "Caps" in it...... give us a logo that we can be proud to wear. sealers , soldiers, Regiment, ,merchants etc....

  • Steve
    July 02, 2011 - 16:15

    Please say NO - to the Icecaps. There has to be more imagination and ingenuity out there than that. After saying that if that is what Danny wants, that is what Danny will get. I am sure he cares very little about what the rest of us may think....... Other than buying season tickets that is !

  • John Doe
    July 02, 2011 - 09:23

    St. John's Jackals

  • Season ticket holder
    July 02, 2011 - 02:19

    Please, please, please, please DON'T ruin a great name (and great tradition) by throwing 'Ice' in front of it (we're not a southern U.S. market trying to explain the game). The St. John's Caps is the perfect name. If you don't want 'Caps' to stand on its own, go with something completely different.

  • O.C.
    July 01, 2011 - 18:58

    John Smith is too kind. I would call the the Seal Clubbers.

  • Harry Whitehorne
    July 01, 2011 - 18:33

    What seems to be the problem that everyone is having about the St. John's Icecaps name (if selected) would remind them of the Tim Horton's Ice Cap coffee??? Tim Horton was one of the greatest hockey players who wever lived. What a great way to keep his memory alive. Great name!!!

  • JMP
    July 01, 2011 - 16:24

    Ice Caps = Tim's whether they put St. John's in it or not..... How about the St. John's Republics????? OR St. John's Hill Caps...

  • Marie
    July 01, 2011 - 14:51

    What about "Danny Boys"? I realy like the Newfie Bullet.

    • Eric
      July 21, 2011 - 15:46

      Thanks, I came up with the Newfie Bullet name!

  • Bruce Nolan
    July 01, 2011 - 14:25

    Were there no lessons learned from the catastrophe that was the Fogdevils? With the bountiful culture, history and tradition of Newfoundland and Labrador, the best moniker for our new AHL franchise is something that could be ordered at Tim Horton's! Was the Caps, without the Ice, simply not cool enough? Winnipeg hockey fans were successful in convincing the new owners not to move away from the Jets. In the case of our new team, we have to convince ownership that we will not allow our team to be called the "Ice Caps." If you want to have your voice heard on this issue, check out the Facebook page Please don't let our new AHL team be called the "Ice Caps"

  • Donald Penney
    July 01, 2011 - 12:13

    The Ice Caps sounds fine, I like it and it did not make me or my friend (from Montreal) think of Tim's. Maybe Ice Capitals ???

  • Linda C
    July 01, 2011 - 11:45

    How about the St. John's or Newfoundland and Labrador True North? Or Nor'easters?

  • Linda C.
    July 01, 2011 - 11:34

    Telegram, keep in mind that the Tim's drink is Iced capp not ice capp. Makes more of a difference between IceCaps and Iced capps. Having said that I think people will still associate the name with tims and we shouldn't use it.

  • mj
    July 01, 2011 - 09:51

    I have no interest in hockey but for the people that do, who are so grateful to Mr. Williams for arranging it, why not work some form or part of his name into it?

  • DON
    July 01, 2011 - 08:59

    I like it . Although the polar caps suggestion sounds good also. GO CAPS

  • Charlie
    July 01, 2011 - 08:00

    IceCaps.............. Makes us look like we're trying to jump onthe popularity of the Tim Hortons franchise. When I think of Tim Hortons I think of inconvenient lineups, addiction to a fad (not a real addiction) and an excuse to take some time off. Isn't this (St. john's) already marketed as the City of Legends? St. John's Legends Start them off being something to be remembered for a long time after all, St. John's is the oldest city in North America.

  • Steve
    July 01, 2011 - 07:54

    I think it is one of the most stupid names I've ever heard (most likely drummed up by short witted stupid people with no understanding in marketing). If they wanted to grab the attention, hearts and appreciation of local fans they should have chosen a name that none of us could refuse, a name that speaks to us, a name that we would respect and a name that opponents would surely respect because they would understand our passion. I suggested "The Blue Puttees", this is a name that you would be hard pressed to find a dissenting opinion in Newfoundland. Reconsider your choice.

  • BALDY
    July 01, 2011 - 07:49

    i think you should call the team after the crowd that was the biggest cheering section ever at the old memorial stadium. THE BLEACHER CREATURES

  • Jeff in Borneo
    July 01, 2011 - 06:11

    Just when I thought it couldn't get any worse, we go from Fog Devils to IceCaps? Please, it's a hockey team, not a frozen coffee. I still think part of the reason the QMJHL team did so poorly was that nobody could get behind the stupid name or ridiculous mascot. Despite the fact that the government did not support it financially, it really will be the province's team, or certainly for many in the metro area, so why not have it named after the province? Newfoundland Regiment is one of the best I heard so far...

  • Chris
    July 01, 2011 - 01:44

    I suggest St. John's Spirit

  • Andrew P
    July 01, 2011 - 01:08

    St. John's Bubble!

  • Chris Neill
    June 30, 2011 - 23:41

    I like it

  • Bernie
    June 30, 2011 - 21:47

    The Caribou has a rich and symbolic meaning. After all they are not team St.John's but the NL team!

  • Don Clark
    June 30, 2011 - 20:57

    I agree with you Hockeyfan. No name will get 50% in any poll, as most of us have a different favorite name. All that matters is the club have a name, any name. White Caps, Ice Caps, Moose, Jets, Mounties, Mariners, Bluenose.... any name will do....

  • Steve
    June 30, 2011 - 20:23

    Ice caps is rediculous. Something else for the mainland to make fun of. Beothuks is an hommage and we could use the same logo as the blackhawks and call them the B's for short.

  • Nick
    June 30, 2011 - 19:49

    Why not "whitecaps" like you see as you look from mile one out thru the narrows? Or "Growlers" The small chunks of once mighty icebergs that can rip open the hull of a boat like a tin can

  • Mike
    June 30, 2011 - 19:27

    They have a chance to chose the sublime. Please don't choose the ridiculous " Ice caps " indeed. Sounds like the name of a bad drink.

  • PHILIP
    June 30, 2011 - 18:53

    I, SAY NAME THEM THE NL GOLDEN ARROW'S .YOU KNOW ON OUR FLAG.

  • Jack Meoff
    June 30, 2011 - 18:27

    St. John's Legends? St. John's Rock? St. John's Vikings? St. John's Wild Bologna's! All of these are better than IceCaps! I really liked the suggesiton of calling them the Regiment too!

  • Terry Whelan
    June 30, 2011 - 18:23

    Newfoundland Legend; or Tradition or Replblic. or Blue Puttee's:or 1497

  • Paul
    June 30, 2011 - 18:20

    St.John;s Shellbacks. A shellback is a sailor and a type of crab. Shells are closely associated with the Sea. Have a Shellback Crab holding a hockey stick for a logo. Another name St John's Whitetips. Named after the Whitetip Shark. You could design a evil smiling shark holding a stick.

  • former newfie
    June 30, 2011 - 17:50

    Folks dont miss this opportnity to salute our war dead. We do not have Memorial Stadium which are fayhers and grtandfathers help toi build. How about Newfoundland Blue Putttees and the team could wear the similar soxks...creative marketing Or Newfoundland Regiment and they could still wear the blue puttees socks.

  • New fan
    June 30, 2011 - 17:24

    How about the Legends?

  • Frank Power
    June 30, 2011 - 16:54

    The Newfoundland Express The Newfoundland Privateers The Newfoundland Republic The Newfoundland Jets Its not all about the old senior or junior townie Caps. Give it provincial appeal or you will lose merchandise sales and interest from everyone outside St. John's. I thought they were looking for a provincial subsidy and now I know why they didn't get it. Look at the name St. John's and Caps are for the townies only! I thought Danny and company wanted to make this work? Go back to Tim Hortons and start over !!!! Its pretty obvious that a townie name or Tim Hortons ripoff will not work here.

  • nocaps
    June 30, 2011 - 16:50

    I like the "Sealers " as well. com'on Danny show the Country and the world what we're made off, like true Newfoundlanders.

  • anti-icecap
    June 30, 2011 - 16:36

    NO NO NOOOOO to the "icecaps" how about theSt Johns "Hagdowns" GO Hags GO GO Hags GO Go Hags Go......

  • Sheldon Walsh
    June 30, 2011 - 16:24

    MAX, NL is not a recognized abbreviation for Newfoundland. Well, on the other hand, maybe it is, to people who don't know any better, but it's not correct.

    • Fintan
      July 04, 2011 - 16:01

      Sheldon, in actuallity NL is the abreviation recogized for Newfoundland and Labrador that replaced Nfld. Nfld is used for the island of Newfoundland. Do not forget that Labrador is also a part of our great province and if any abreviation that would be used would be NL or the words "Newfoundland and Labrador" which is the correct name of our province. As for the name of the Hockey Team I like the Blue Puttees which shows our Provinces link to military history and strength of character.

  • Melting and Weak Ice Caps
    June 30, 2011 - 15:59

    The Ice Caps are melting. They are weak. They will disappear. They are cracking up. They are showing weakness. And that is just the real Ice Caps up north. Keep the name at the team will take on the same discription. Just leave it at Caps.

  • glenn
    June 30, 2011 - 15:51

    HOw about the "EXODUS"-- to represent all us newfies that are living away because there was no future to be had living back on the rock? Logo could be a feller in his sou'wester, with a suitcase in his and and the alternate logo could be " alberta or bust"?!?!?!?

  • chief
    June 30, 2011 - 15:37

    We need a name that we can have a great logo/ Mascot. Anything with "caps " in it sucks the big one..... I like John smiths "Sealers". can you picture (like the San Jose Sharks logo) , a seal with a hockey stick breaking in its mouth. supports the seal hunt as well.....

  • Matt
    June 30, 2011 - 15:29

    Can't say I'm sold on the IceCaps. White caps definitely sounds better. I'm not exactly fond of Seajets either. If you wanted to use the word "Sea" I'd go with "St. John's Seabirds". You have the alliteration, plus we can draw on the puffin imagery.

  • Chief
    June 30, 2011 - 15:09

    that name "SUCKS" reminds me of bad Tim Hortons Coffee. geeze ,i thought "fog Devils was bad.... just terrible. I can see the mascot now , shaped like a a tims paper cup . terrible ,just terrible.

  • badameli
    June 30, 2011 - 15:02

    I like the NL Clubbers (not NL Seal Clubbers)... seriously. I think it's a great hockey team name.

  • JOSEPH MCGRATH
    June 30, 2011 - 13:57

    "PolarCaps " puts a nice picture in my own immigation.IceCaps reminds me of bad coffee , street litter and auto lines causing traffic snarls andd is the butt of jokes and curses. Go with 'PolarCaps'which signify strength,beauty and the rawness and beauty of NL

    • Gerry Power
      June 30, 2011 - 14:59

      If Tim Horton's didn't already have it, may be. This may be a St. John's based team, but the market is the whole province. Caps is too closely aligned with Townies.

    • Keith
      July 01, 2011 - 08:03

      What about the St.john's R.D.F, standing for rain drizzle and fog for those how do not know what RDF stands for.

    • garry
      July 01, 2011 - 18:07

      townies or whalers even brewers not ice caps maybe muffins or long johns.

  • Beck
    June 30, 2011 - 13:51

    Def reminds me of Tim Hortons!!! Thought coming from a marketing company it would be more creative than that!! What about the Coastal Blades?

  • mom
    June 30, 2011 - 13:14

    If you really want cap in the name why not use "Cap it all" meaning to surpass or outdo. Sometimes three words are better than one and you could use the nickname caps for short.

  • Matt Mills
    June 30, 2011 - 12:44

    The St John's IceCaps is the worse name yet! Why don't we just go ahead and call ourselves the St John's Large Double Double's. They should really rethink this name because it is awful.

    • Jackie Logans
      June 30, 2011 - 13:29

      IceCaps sounds fine & dandy! I, however, would have named the team: St. John's Avalons.

  • NashTray
    June 30, 2011 - 12:36

    Playing out of the Tim Horton's Centre? The Donut Shack? Might score a double double... Against their rivals, the Boston Creams?

  • Leah
    June 30, 2011 - 12:36

    What about "St. John's Cabots" after John Cabot?

  • Caribou
    June 30, 2011 - 12:03

    Obviously Newfoundland Caribous...A hommage to the Royal Newfoundland Regiment and their sacrifice at the Battle of the Somme (could do some really great work with the logos and jerseys, with a fighting caribou for the regular jersey and a replica of the Caribou Memorial for the alternate jersey)

    • CH
      June 30, 2011 - 13:14

      Ice Caps is a bit ridiculous to say the least. Bullets or Vikings would make a great logo and easily marketed. Whitecaps could work too but I believe the name is tied up with Vancouver of the MLS.

  • Lynn from Calgary
    June 30, 2011 - 11:27

    I like the "St. John's Cornerboys" myself :)

  • westernnler
    June 30, 2011 - 11:23

    Most rediculous name ever.....and i said that about the Fog Devils a few years back. Who comes up with these things and how many mushrooms are they eating when they do!?!? Go with St. John's Growlers.....

    • Brothers
      June 30, 2011 - 12:25

      I think St. John's Ryders would be a great name. This would show our fellow newfoundlander's that play in the NHL we are behind them. And that Ryder is going to be bringing home the Cup this year, would be nice to have the team in his name ST. JOHN'S RYDERS

  • not a fan
    June 30, 2011 - 11:04

    Who is the owner of this team, Tim Hortons. I say no more.

  • Amos McGonigle
    June 30, 2011 - 10:58

    It's not ideal to call the team the Caps(for us having no affiliation the Washington Caps) or The Moose(based on all the problems and related deaths we have with them here) The team will not have Newfoundland in the title for the simple fact that the Province has nothing to do with the team. If the provincial government supported the team, then they may have had a chance. While IceCaps is not greatest name I have heard, i think if marketed correctly no one will even think of Tim Hortons. I think with a awesome logo(pending the Jets will use their old color scheme) and a intense marketing campaign that people get behind, this will work out.

  • Graham
    June 30, 2011 - 10:53

    Call them the SCREAMING EGOS. A name truly fitting for Danny Williams.

  • Calvin
    June 30, 2011 - 10:49

    Really though people, if the Telegram hadnt pointed out the connection with Tim's then half of you wouldnt have put 2 & 2 together. The St. John's Icecaps does not remind me of a Tim Hortons Iced Capp. With that said, the Jets would be fine. "Go Jets Go!! and "Go Caps Go!! are easy enough to chant in unison. How about the St. John's Gale? Always blowin a gale here, the team would blow their opponents right over...... HA!

  • Jon
    June 30, 2011 - 10:47

    Worst name ever. Where the hell do we come up with crap like fog devils and ice caps? Call them the jets obviously!

  • Colin
    June 30, 2011 - 10:44

    If you want a Newfoundland name then how about the "NEWFY BULLETs"?

  • Just a Thought
    June 30, 2011 - 10:39

    The association with Tim Horton's is quite strong and does undermine the attempt at to incorporate an aspect of NL's geography . Might I suggest the use of Ballicatter in the name such as St. John's Ballicatters or NL Ballicatters (either is fine with me) . Ballicater is a Newfoundland term for ice that has frozen on a shore line from ocean waves. Or simply put, ice on rock, which when you thenk about it, aptly describes the situation.

  • Just a Thought
    June 30, 2011 - 10:37

    The association with Tim Horton's is quite strong and does undermine the attempt at to incorporate an aspect of NL's geography . Might I suggest the use of Ballicatter in the name such as St. John's Ballicatters or NL Ballicatters (either is fine with me) . Ballicater is a Newfoundland term for ice that has frozen on a shore line from ocean waves. Or simply put, ice on rock, which when you thenk about it, aptly describes the situation.

  • Darrell
    June 30, 2011 - 10:33

    I do not like the name ice caps either.

  • Marty
    June 30, 2011 - 10:23

    Just call them the CAPS.

  • Max
    June 30, 2011 - 10:23

    The name suggested in an earlier post by Paul O'Dee, might just fit the bill SEAJETS, there is an instant tieback to the SEA, and also to the parent NHL Club's Name JETS. To Add local recognition just preface with Newfoundland or one of its recognized abbreviations Nfld. or NL

  • Lisa
    June 30, 2011 - 10:21

    I like my suggestions better.....Iceburgs, Puffins, Schreechers or Cabots.

  • HabsFan
    June 30, 2011 - 10:17

    "(Check out today's Tely Poll Question to vote on whether or not you like the name)." Yeah, about that, I'd love to but you didn't link to it and I can't find it. #fail

  • Frankie Venom
    June 30, 2011 - 10:15

    No, no, no not another Newfie Joke please! "Ice Cap" is a Tim Horton's beverage NOT a hockey team moniker ... might as well call the team the "Tim Bits" ... and while I'm at it, what the H-E-double Hockey Sticks is up with the "trendy" two word team names these days ... names like the ridiculous Fog Devils that "try" to make a connection between two words that normally have no logical association with one another. Trendy today is not tomorrow (remember the mullet?). Go with either the Jets (the team is after all Winterpeg's farm franchise) or the Capitals, seeing as how both names have some bona fide hockey history associated with them. Ice Caps ... fffftttttttttt

  • Frankie Venom
    June 30, 2011 - 10:13

    No, no, no not another Newfie Joke please! "Ice Cap" is a Tim Horton's beverage NOT a hockey team moniker ... might as well call the team the "Tim Bits" ... and while I'm at it, what the H-E-double Hockey Sticks is up with the "trendy" two word team names these days ... names like the ridiculous Fog Devils that "try" to make a connection between two words that normally have no logical association with one another. Trendy today is not tomorrow (remember the mullet?). Go with either the Jets (the team is after all Winterpeg's farm franchise) or the Capitals, seeing as how both names have some bona fide hockey history associated with them. Ice Caps ... fffftttttttttt

  • HockeyFan
    June 30, 2011 - 10:07

    NO NO NO to the IceCaps. Agreed that it reminds me of Tim Hortons and the Timbit Hockey. PLEASE NO!!!!!!!!!

  • Steve-O
    June 30, 2011 - 10:04

    If you want Caps used it is going to have to be something in front of it whether it is Ice or White we can still call them the Caps but it has to be something to show a difference between Washington and here for people in the away cities that don't know about the history of the Caps in this city we would know the difference but they won't. As for IceCaps being the name has a good ring to it and the Tim Hortons beverage is called Iced Capp go to the website. People don't be so friggin picky we are lucky we're getting this opportunity.

  • Catherine
    June 30, 2011 - 09:57

    What a horribly stupid name for the team. I hope those in charge come to their senses. Who wants their team named after a coffee? And seeing as the province decided not to even consider putting any money up to help get the team here in the first place why include Newfoundland in the name? Whatever name they pick should include St. John's in the name, not Newfoundland.

  • Nancy
    June 30, 2011 - 09:55

    That is the stupidist name ever. It SHOULD be: "St. John's Jets". It only makes sense if we have their farm team.

  • Max
    June 30, 2011 - 09:54

    I too think it would be appropriate and strategically smart to incorporate Newfoundland into the name despite the provinces' failure to provide any financial support. But in the end it will be Danny's team or at least he is the figure head with the most public recognition. Why not call them the Newfoundland Diggers, as this would project the image of determined workers, which it is to be hoped this Team will prove to be. I must admit I attended a number of games by our previous AHL Team , and in general they portrayed the attitude of a disinterested group just going through the motions. I would not support the present Team if they displayed the same lack of intent and motivation. What we need is a team that will DIG IN with a determined effort to be the BEST. A team that can fire the Public's imagination, and above all a Team that will make the effort. The Name Diggers would also have a tieback to the proud mining history in Newfoundland. Then again they could be called the Roughnecks or Riggers which would have some tie in with our present involvement in and prosperity from Oil. The possibilities are endless and the moniker IceCaps such an unimaginative effort. Lets give them a name that is instantly recognizable and reflective of the home they occupy, and the effort that will be required to be successful.

  • sgoodyear
    June 30, 2011 - 09:45

    IceCaps is a horrible name - just plain weak. I'd like to see "The St. John's Regiment ". Picture Olive green uniforms and Blue socks with a logo consisting of a regiment of soldiers climbing out of the trenches with bayonets fixed. Bad Ass!

    • Ditka
      June 30, 2011 - 10:48

      I don't think the "Ice Caps" work, but I also don't believe 'White Caps" is a viable option. It is the name of the MLS soccer team in Vancouver after all. I agree with SGOODYEAR in saying "The St. John's Regiment" or "Newfoundland Regiment" would be an excellent team name. It has an historical connection and pays tribute to those who gave their lives in WWI.

  • Trevor
    June 30, 2011 - 09:45

    It would be very difficult to feel any attachment to the name "IceCaps." What's worse is that when read as one word, it makes us look inferior to the rest of the world in terms of knowing the language. Putting 'ice' to 'caps' as one word looks bad. On open line, someone suggested White Caps; that's good. Not only can we relate to White Caps, but it is two words as well, unlike IceCaps. If you are going to use IceCaps, make it Ice Caps. It's frustrating to know that people are backing this. Have a vote!

  • Wanda
    June 30, 2011 - 09:44

    NL Scruntions....not bad.....rough and touch and fat.

  • Kayla
    June 30, 2011 - 09:44

    Really?... Ice Caps? .. Makes me want to head to the Tim Horton's Drive Thru.

  • Peggy Payne
    June 30, 2011 - 09:35

    thumbs down on the icecaps...what would the mascot be...a cup of coffee...I'm personally feel it sould be called after St. Johns and not Newfoundland just because the government is not on board to help bring the team here...just sayin'...

  • Lee
    June 30, 2011 - 09:35

    Any name suggested with "Newfoundland and Labrador" in it can always be abbreviated to go on the jerseys or souvinirs as "NL"

    • Lisa
      June 30, 2011 - 10:18

      I like my suggestions better......Iceburgs, Schreechers, Cabots or Puffins.

    • JETHRO BODINE
      June 30, 2011 - 11:47

      "NL SEAL CLUBBERS" Who's with me??

  • Paul O'Dee
    June 30, 2011 - 09:27

    I don't like the "I scabs," or "Ice Cappuccinos" ... I think we should stick with the parent club and go with the SEA JETS !

  • St. John's - Calgary
    June 30, 2011 - 09:27

    in the words of facebook "DISLIKE"

  • Peggy
    June 30, 2011 - 09:21

    What about the name "Newfoundland and Labrador Scruntions" ????? or "St. John's Scruntions" ???

  • cod father
    June 30, 2011 - 09:15

    Why not, Vikings, if the name is available. That name struck fear in the hearts of all for many centuries. Also if memory serves me correctly Danny was himself a Viking in High School

  • Don Taylor
    June 30, 2011 - 09:08

    "CAP CITY BOUNCERS" would be the perfect name.

  • Bill Cooke
    June 30, 2011 - 09:07

    I think that WhiteCaps pertaining to the waves on our ponds and ocean would be much better. It would also bring everybody together by everyone wearing a white cap.

  • Saucy Face
    June 30, 2011 - 09:04

    Those wanting to call the team after the province instead of St. John's need to remember that the province's name is Newfoundland and Labrador not Newfoundland as you are suggesting. So that means if the team is the Ice Caps it would be called 'The Newfoundland and Labrador Ice Caps’. Yeah, I can see that on the jerseys now LOL This is strictly a St. John's based and financed team, remember that with the lone exception being the mayor of Port Aux Basques, no one outside the now defunct overpass wanted the provincial government to have anything to do with subsidising the team, so Danny Williams and the citizens of John's owes the rest of the province diddly squat when it comes to naming rights. Go St. John's Ice Caps!

    • Oprah's Sister
      June 30, 2011 - 11:43

      Well Saucy, I guess you dont mind then if the "St.John's Whatevers" go the same way the Fog Devils and the first team went. Nowhere.

  • gerry williams
    June 30, 2011 - 08:54

    The icecaps is not a bad name,but I was thinking St.John;s Fire

  • Timmy Ho
    June 30, 2011 - 08:54

    Please tell me this is just some clever maketing ploy by Tim Hortons. Why not the St. John's Double Doubles then? Newfoundland isn't exactly known for it's mountainous terrain (yes yes, Marble Mountain, but is it the first thing you think of when you think 'Newfoundland'?), so the name really says little about the province, and even less about St. John's. Maybe St. John's Narrows would work better, to exhibit ownership's narrow mindedness in picking a name.

  • Ned Anderson
    June 30, 2011 - 08:44

    Icecaps ???? Really ????? C'mon people ,.......for a people that are known to be as creative as we are ,.....THAT's what they considering ???? What's next ,...the brand of hockey they'll play will be "TimBits Hockey" ??? If it's NOT something that ties into our heritage that we can take ownership of, and fiercely defend , then that would be a mockery !!!

  • Scott
    June 30, 2011 - 08:40

    Unless Tims is going to be a major corporate sponsor then that name should not be used. How about White Caps since it is always windy here and they can be visible anywhere, on the ocean or lakes.

    • Dean
      June 30, 2011 - 11:11

      Winnipeg has the Jets so many we should have the St John's Pilots. I was also thinking of something more 'modern' like St John's Surge. Not a fan of IceCaps.

    • Dean
      June 30, 2011 - 11:19

      Winnipeg has the Jets so many we should have the St John's Pilots. I was also thinking of something more 'modern' like St John's Surge. Not a fan of IceCaps.

  • BADNAME
    June 30, 2011 - 08:38

    Please not IceCaps. Horrible name. Because of the Washington Capitals, the name Capitals is out. Come up with something new! And new means forget about Caps.

  • B
    June 30, 2011 - 08:24

    How about the NL WRECKHOUSE ?

  • Suggestion
    June 30, 2011 - 08:23

    Not struck on the IceCaps due to the Tim's association. How about St. John's Legacies? Not only will the team leave its own legacy but this could be Danny's legacy as well :)

  • AHLer
    June 30, 2011 - 08:22

    First of, the team shouldnt be called the "Newfoundland.... whatevers...", as the Government of NL decided not to fund the team, but Danny did, so leave it the "St John's....whatevers". Next, the IceCaps is a ridiculas name, seriously cant we come up with something better, who is sponsering the team? Tim Hortons?????

  • ScottP
    June 30, 2011 - 08:16

    Really? We are going to give this team the same name as a popular Tim Hortons beverage? HATE it!

  • Scott
    June 30, 2011 - 08:13

    Unless Tims is going to be a major corporate sponsor then that name should not be used. How about White Caps since it is always windy here and they can be visible anywhere, on the ocean or lakes.

  • Samantha
    June 30, 2011 - 07:57

    Hate it.... can't they come up with something a little more original? You'll all say what are my idea's.. i have none, but i'm sure they can come up with something a little more interesting and less obvious than the "icecaps"..... because of the cold climate and icecaps float by... i'm sure. YAWWWWWWNN

  • SRF
    June 30, 2011 - 07:55

    You stick ice in front of a name for fans who are clueless about the Game. I was an off ice official in Corpus Christi Texas for the first season of the WPHL team there called the IceRays, and Ice was used because you have to beat the frozen ice etc thing into the heads of a population that knew nothing about hockey and were skeptical about the sport, thus their name ( Rays came from the abundance of stingrays in the area). Icecaps is just lame and lazy! I have no issue with Caps and what not, but the ice part is just unoriginal and has been part of lower minor league team names for years!

  • Loosey Goosey
    June 30, 2011 - 07:54

    Guess what, no matter what name they choose, if it starts with "St. John's (something)..." it won't work. You have to name it NL (something) or you won't get the people of the province's support. Sure, when they were in Manitoba...they were called after the province "Manitoba.." NOT the Winnipeg Moose. See??

  • Samantha
    June 30, 2011 - 07:50

    Hate it.... can't they come up with something a little more original? You'll all say what are my idea's.. i have none, but i'm sure they can come up with something a little more interesting and less obvious than the "icecaps"..... because of the cold climate and icecaps float by... i'm sure. YAWWWWWWNN

  • Dale Cameron
    June 30, 2011 - 07:46

    Wouldn't it be great if we could name the team with reference to something that is historically significant to our Province, even though the Province didn't support it financially. How about Cap Explorers, Growlers (an iceberg term),

  • John Smith
    June 30, 2011 - 07:44

    I think they should call them the St. John's Sealers, drive the mainlanders nutty.

  • unknown
    June 30, 2011 - 07:43

    I beleive if anyone had any sense they would make it a "Newfoundland" name and not "St. John's". Manitoba had their provinces' name and it worked out amazing. This is a big help because it states its a team from Newfoundland as a whole, rather than singling out St. John's in itself. I am from outside St. John's but am a huge hockey fan, so I will be going to as many games as I can regardless of the name, but from my own opinion, people from outside St. John's will go to more games if they feel they have a better relation to the team, and what better way to do this than making it "Newfoundland icecaps". Just my opinion of course. Cheers

  • unknown
    June 30, 2011 - 07:42

    I beleive if anyone had any sense they would make it a "Newfoundland" name and not "St. John's". Manitoba had their provinces' name and it worked out amazing. This is a big help because it states its a team from Newfoundland as a whole, rather than singling out St. John's in itself. I am from outside St. John's but am a huge hockey fan, so I will be going to as many games as I can regardless of the name, but from my own opinion, people from outside St. John's will go to more games if they feel they have a better relation to the team, and what better way to do this than making it "Newfoundland icecaps". Just my opinion of course. Cheers

    • Curious George
      June 30, 2011 - 09:30

      First of all IceCaps is idiotic. Tim's jokes are already popping into my head. Second, to those who say it has to be the "Newfoundland" something or other rather than "St. John's" if they want support across the province I ask, "What about Labrador?" Isn't that part of the province as well? The provincial thing won't work because, unlike the Manitoba Moose, the Newfoundland and Labrador (insert name here) is too much of a mouthful. Personally I like the idea of calling them the "Roughnecks" in reference to our booming oil industry.

    • This Is A St. John's Team
      June 30, 2011 - 15:13

      Isnt it funny how people from outside the overpass want to have a say in the team name but were all up in arms a month ago when these same people were all up in arms when Danny went to the province looking for help with the travel subsidy. If this team isnt called St. John's, neither I nor my family will be in attendance. Just go with the St. John's Capitals. It's easy, and it has significane to hockey history in the City! The Capitals jerseys are also the best in the NHL in my opinion. No need to re-invent the wheel in my opinion

  • hockeyfan
    June 30, 2011 - 07:29

    I understand the Tim Horton's connotation, but it is better than the "Drillers" alternative. I don't believe they can just call them Caps due to the Washington NHL franchise having that moniker trademarked in Canada. People are never going to be happy with the name, no matter what it is. It is still better than Fog Devils.