• 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page

Comments

Comments

Recent comments

  • Colin Burke
    August 29, 2012 - 07:48

    Any argument presented strictly on its merits can stand on its merits, signed (with the author's real name) or unsigned. However, if someone merely dismisses an argument -- by calling it preposterous, for instance -- without trying rationally to rebut it, knowing who that person is and anything he has said before can be helpful in deciding whether to trust his judgement -- if we are inclined to rely on the judgement of others. As for any opinion's being the last word on any subject, G.K. Chesterton pointed out that a man's believing his own opinion to be the right one only means that it is his opinion: having an opinion means believing it to be right.

  • Herb Morrison
    August 28, 2012 - 11:53

    Peter L. I don't believe that my opinions represent the last word on any subject. Simply because I disagree with what someone posts on this or any website, that doesn't guarantee that they ar wrong. It simply means that I believe that thay are wrong. I am entitled to my opinion. I specifically stated that a person would be justified in using a pseudonym if they have a legitimate. if indeed what you post is factual, you have a legetitimate reaso for using a pseudonym.

  • PETER L
    August 28, 2012 - 08:51

    Doug & Herb, so your beliefs are right and many others are wrong. How absurd. First of all, I use a pseudonym because I once stated something in the Telegram, and for that my life was threatened, my children harassed in school, my wife at work, me at work, and had nut bars at my door. I will not go through that again for my beliefs or opinions. This has nothing to do with slavery, you are way out to lunch on this, you exagerate to make a point, to the point of being absurd and plain arrogant. I never said I was against abortion, gay marriage, assisted suicide anywhere, what I said that those who oppose it should not be forced to do it, there are others willing to do so, so those not willing should also have the freedom of choice. Why should a church that is against it due to their beliefs forced to agree to these issues, other churches are willing, so go to those. You make many assumptions, I am not on any wrong side, I believe in choice for all, not just for one side. This is true freedom of choice, otherwise it's simply forcing the left agenda, yet you oppose the right agenda from having an opinion. That make your opinions as worthless as any other.

  • Doug Smith
    August 27, 2012 - 20:30

    Mr. Morrison, for once I agree with you, your remarks on pseudonyms are exactly correct and to the point. Peter L., how narrow and closed minded you are. Your retrograde opinions do humanity a disservice. Whether I am arrogant or not is of no importance. The important thing is whether I am right or wrong. Everyone has opinions but some opinions are wrong and evil. At one time slavery and discrimination was legal in North America, some doctors, clergy and even 4 US presidents had slaves. The fight for freedom eventually did away with slavery. Nowadays, the fight for freedom continues on many fronts, with abortion, gay marriage and assisted suicide only three of many. Of course those on the right, (I guess that includes you Peter L.) are on the wrong side of history and continue to campaign a losing battle against personal freedom and equality. Doug Smith Grand Falls-Windsor

    • PETER L
      August 28, 2012 - 17:24

      DOUG SMITH, it seems to be you who are narrow minded. My opinions are not retrograde, I am only saying, per my reply above, that to have true choice, doctors who do not believe in abortion or assisted suicide should not be forced to perform it, and clergy who are against gay marriage should not be forced either to perform it. Where is the free choice you speak of? Where is there choice when other are willing. This is nothing at all like salvery, and you do much injustice to that struggle to say assisted suicide is the same. We have never been more free, even to the point of all this in this debate, except that assisted suicide is still illegal, no matter what you or I think. It will come to pass sooner or later. It is worthy to note, even to all the far right Christians, that all this is predicted in the bible, and it WILL all happen. So acording to scripture, things are not falling apart, they are coming together as prophesied. The best fight any Christian can make is to insure that they are not forced to be a part of it, as even today Christians are less free to worship as they please, and will be less free as time goes on. Where is the freedom of choice there, seems the Christians are the new people to discriminatae against legally, and that too is wrong and hateful. So much for your personal freedom and equality Doug Smith, seems you wsnt is only for the far left, which I guess include you Doug Smith.

  • Herb Morrison
    August 27, 2012 - 15:35

    To Mr. Smith and Slippery Slope. When it comes to the issue of the use of pseudonyms the issues involved , for me at least, are integrity and credibility. Why should I believe or trust anyone who, without any stated legitimate reason for insisting on anonymity, does so.The fact is, some of the statements made on this and other websites do have merit. However, the lack of integrity involves negates, in my mind, any merit that the writings made under a pseudonym, without a stated legitmate reason for claiming anonymity

  • Colin Burke
    August 27, 2012 - 15:34

    What people ought to enjoy or endure are the effects of what they do. If someone really is convinced that suicide is a solution for the indignity of helplessness, why would he not commit suicide before he could incur the indignity of needing someone else to kill him -- unless while he was enjoying life he really thought that being alive was in itself a noble privilege one ought not to reject in any circumstances? If his thinking thus was only an illusion, well then, embracing illusions is often deemed to warrant hardships of one kind or another. Why is it, anyway, that hardly anyone who favours "assisted suicide" seems inclined to allow capital punishment for murderers of people who presumably want very much to remain alive?

  • Doug Smith
    August 27, 2012 - 12:55

    Who Says, I (Doug Smith) am an ordinary citizen of Grand Falls-Windsor that belongs to no advocacy group whatever. I speak and think for myself and no one else and I say what I believe whether you or anyone else likes it or not. I have nothing to hide and am willing to be held to account for whatever I say or write. Anyone too afraid to sign their name to an opinion publicly expressed can’t be taken seriously. Unless a person is taken seriously they and their opinions can never command respect. Therefore their opinion is, without merit. If doctors, clergy etc. don’t want to perform abortions, gay marriage, or assisted suicide, then they should look for work in other areas. To deny someone their freedom to choose just because you don’t like their choice is a form of oppression. Doug Smith Grand Falls-Windsor

    • PETER L
      August 27, 2012 - 17:49

      How arrogant you truly are. Why should clergy, doctors etc have to look for employment elsewhere just because they do not follow your beliefs. You are no better than those you distain, the so called far right. You are far left according to your views. If someone wants to be a clergy in a church that is against gay marriage, why should they not? If a doctor does not want to do abortions or assisted suicide why should they be forced to? Because people like you say so? What a sad world this would be if run by people of your mind set. Kill everything that someone wants killed, live any kind of perverse life. You are denying those clery and medical professionals their freedom to choose as well. They choose their profession and choose not to abort, kill, or marry gays, that is their choice and should not be forced to do those things. There are still others in those professions willing to do so, so why take away the freedom to choose from one group and not another? Your argument still fails as it is one sided, hence without merit, just too far left! You may be Doug Smith, or may be just another Joe Blow hiding behind a name, how do we really know? You without merit!

  • Doug Smith
    August 26, 2012 - 15:42

    Who Says and Slippery; one of the reasons you need to sign your names is so readers will be able identify you should you be a leader or well known follower of some far right or religious group that is only interested in pushing an agenda and not concerned in personal freedom and human well-being. Having thus identified you, readers would know who they are dealing with and could then dismiss your views as “without merit”. As regards assisted suicide, of course it should be legal. If a person wants to end their life, for whatever reason, who has any right to prevent it? NO one! Of course there will always be people trying to impose their will on others. These know it alls, like Slippery, are a menace to personal freedom and need to mind their own business. From day one in the history of mankind people have been battling for freedom and this debate over assisted suicide is another such battle. Doug Smith Grand Falls-Windsor

    • WHO SAYS
      August 27, 2012 - 09:14

      First Doug Smith, there is no "need" to sign, where do you get that idea? If there was a need the Telegram would require it, so there is no need. Everyone has a right to their opinion too, not just those like you and a few like you wh think just because you sign a name only you haqve merit. Everyone's opinion has merit, whether you like it or not. The debate is not over someone taking their own life, but about assisted suicide. This is indeed a slippery slope. Like the abortion issue, doctors, nurses and others will be forced to do this against their own beliefs, that is wrong. In the abortion, and gay marriage issue, clergy, doctors etc, were told that they would not be forced to go against their beliefs, then the law changed, and continues to change forcing those who do not believe these issues are right, to do abortions, preform gay marriages etc. This is totally wrong! You opinions are no better than the far right you so despise, you are forcing your own personal beliefs on others, so perhaps, according to your logic, as we don't know who you are, that your opinion is also of "NO MERIT".

  • Slippery Slope - Slippery Rope
    August 25, 2012 - 18:29

    @ "Doug Smith": If the only thing you can reply to my comment with is, "since since you lack the courage to sign your name ... comment is without merit" it shows you have no other arguments and you are grasping at straws. You never even made a comment yourself. To attack and dismiss the person is a common tatic of radical left-wingers who have the inability to refuse and defeat the logic of those who promote dignity. I am not amazed that you never dismissed the radical comment of "Anon" or any other likeminded people who never put a name on thier comments.

  • Doug Smith
    August 25, 2012 - 09:19

    Slippery Slope- Slippery Rope, since you lack the courage to sign your name to your opinion I am forced to conclude your comment is without merit. Doug Smith Grand Falls-Windsor

    • WHO SAYS
      August 26, 2012 - 08:47

      Who says that without a name the comment is without merit? Who put the foreman's face on you? The comment has merit, whether the name is on or not and wheter you or I believe it or not. Who says even if your real name is Doug Smith?

  • Anon
    August 25, 2012 - 08:56

    Either we start allowing assisted suicides or we and the families continue to deal with what happens when 70 year old cancer patients put bullets in their skulls.

  • Slippery Slope - Slippery Rope
    August 25, 2012 - 07:38

    A person is worth more than an animal. You kill an old animal if they get sick, however a person derserves more love, respect, care and concern. If someone is asking for suicide there is obviously an under-lying condition. They need extra loving attention, conselling from depression or mental illness, pain medication. With legal assisted suicide and euthanasia, elder abuse and ill abuse will go on the rise abusers will see the death of their victims an easy way out for the abuser. The abuse is is the fashion of suttle hints or not so suttle attempts at making people think they are burdens and should ask to end it all. Then doctors do make mistakes as has happened in other areas with legal assisted suicide when patient files or IDs get mixed up as already happens occasionally here in NL.

    • Ruby J Burke
      August 26, 2012 - 01:01

      Euthanasia is quite a controversial topic and will remain so because of various beliefs. I feel in one way, it is God's choice not man's to decide how, when and where we die. I , however, feel great sympathy for those who suffer greatly and wonder what kind of God allows this and why. Few people realize that legalized euthanasia already exists in the form of Morphine. Many times when a person is dying in great pain and discomfort, they are placed on morphine to alleviate this . One of the side effects is the decrease in respirations so that as the dosage is increased to alleviate the increase in pain or decrease in the person's tolerance of the level of pain, this increase of the dosage eventuallly stops respirations and the person dies. This raises the question should we abide by and continue this existing form of euthanaisia , which allows the person to die with some degree of dignity and comfort or is it right to allow God to take the person when HE is ready? Death can be as undignified as birth. When a woman is giving birth , she readily asks for something to help with the pain in most cases so should not a dying person be given something to help decrease the pain but I guess I do believe God decides death as he decides life. We cannot think ourselves more powerful than the Creator and make decisions which are His to make. I do believe in the individuals' right to decide how to run his own existence and demise if he or she is prepared to deal with the consequences on the Judgement Day. Thank you .

    • SLIPPERY SLOPE - SLIPPERY ROPE
      August 26, 2012 - 14:48

      @ RUBY: There is a difference between providing needed pain relief that will hasten death as a side effect (which is legal and moral) and making a decision to hasten death by providing things like morphine which relieve pain (which is not right). In other words, give enough medication to relieve pain but not to overdose. There is also a difference between having someone involved in your active killing (either assisted suicide or euthanasia) and you choosing, or having someone if you are unable, to not undergo extraordinary measures (which is not assisted suicide or euthanasia). People tend to get the whole legal meanings of things mixed up. They say there is nothing wrong with AS or EUT thinking it is happening now and would not mind seeing the law changed, not realizing that AS or EUT does not happen now. If these people do not get educated we will end up with many forced or unintentional deaths.