• 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page

Comments

Comments

Recent comments

  • Ed Power
    September 11, 2012 - 20:35

    What's this?! No rebuttal by the famously pseudonymous John Smith?! No spirited defence of all hydro things Muskratty and Manitoban? If one wasn't faced with the prospect of paying for the billion dollar cost overruns for Muskrat Falls out of ones measley pay envelope or pension cheque, one could find the irony in Nalcors' reliance upon a project analysis provided by Manitoba Hydro - they of the flawed power requirement projections and massive cost overruns for their own megaproject - amusing.

  • Pierre Neary
    September 11, 2012 - 17:23

    "that Newfoundland ratepayers will carry all the freight for Muskrat Falls" The message seems loud and clear.

  • Winston Adams
    September 11, 2012 - 15:52

    Our Premier has an alternate plan already, it's the Energy efficiency Action Plan, where they will reduce the energy needed by 20 percent by 2020. And this can stabalize rates, not increase rates. And can be done at 1/4 or less than Muskrat falls. The only problem is that she has no yearly targets to achieve this, and no Efficiency group with a mandate to do this. But it's a perfect backup plan, if followed through, because efficient heating solves our problen for 2 decades or more. And she needs to reign in the expenditures of Nalcor immediately. If she acts in this direction it would be a blessing for the homeowner, and could very well reverse her decline in the polls. But first she has to realize the the timing is wrong for Muskrat falls, that there is a better solution, and to lay out targets for her existing Efficiency Action Plan. Just announce she's going to Plan B, which has been there all the time. What can the opposition say? They didn't even suggest it as a solution.

  • Premier Dunderdale please give your head a shake
    September 11, 2012 - 11:10

    Please Premier Dunderdale reevaluate what you are overseeing with the proposed Muskrat Falls Project. It appears that you and your government could very likely bring down the economy of Newfoundland and Labrador if you go ahead with the Muskrat Falls Project, especially if the onerous debt results that has been touted. Premier, all you have to do is take note of the economic problems that Manitoba Hydro are going through that are listed by Mr. Wangersky in this article, the firm you and your government chose to review the proposed Muskrat Falls Project, after you rejected the Public Utilities Board of Newfoundland and Labrador because it didn't give you the favorable review you were looking for because the data it held didn't support the debt. It is wise not to forget that 'rating agencies' of the past gave out favorable reviews which brought down some of the largest Financial Institutions, Corporations and the World Economy in 2008. Yes, Premier, there are times when all of us have to give our heads a shake to make sure that we are on the right trajectory for our and our province's future. You Premier Dunderdale are the leader of Newfoundland and Labrador and you can make or break us with the wrong move on the Muskrat Falls Project at the wrong time in our history.

  • Maurice E. Adams
    September 11, 2012 - 10:55

    And if you read today's Globe and Mail you will see that Canada's oil exports will also be impacted because the U.S. is moving rapidly towards energy self sufficiency. The days of exporting power from NEW hydro-electric generation plants to the U.S. is over (too expensive). We have a potential revenue generator in the Upper Churchill and in natural gas. Time for our premier and cabinet to acknowledge that realities have changed.

  • Ed. A.
    September 11, 2012 - 10:12

    can we send a copy of this to queen dunderdale and her parrot JEROME?

  • Derrick
    September 11, 2012 - 09:09

    WE will be lucky if its completed/working for under 10 billion, this will add a debt burden of about 20 Thousand dollars be person ( 10 billion/500K ), the sad part is only about 220 thousand people are employed at the present time.

  • Too Funny
    September 11, 2012 - 08:04

    "So what message can you take from all this?" That there will always be a reason to raise hydro rates.