• 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page

Comments

Comments

Recent comments

  • Jacklyn Adams
    October 29, 2012 - 18:44

    The government says its coming out with its muskrat falls info in a little while - and I say I would trust their info about as much as I would trust Conservative Catholic Patrick Hanlon to give us the correct information on women's reproductive issues.

  • Cyril Rogers
    October 29, 2012 - 14:13

    As usual, Maggy, you are spot on in your analysis of how this government operates. The total lack of transparency and the introduction of Bill 29, which was, in my opinion, designed to hide information that could be damaging to this project, gives me no comfort that we will get anything realistic from them. They are determined to conduct a slight-of-hand, no matter what we say and no matter what kinds of alternatives or legitimate concerns may arise. I fear we will not learn the truth about the actual viability of this project until it is too late and we are stuck with a monstrous financial blunder. If the decision could be reversed I would be less adamant in my opposition but the problem here is that we will never be able to go back once they sanction it. It is painfully obvious that the PC's have the blinders on, despite the fact that they are committing the people of this province to a project with severe financial implications...if they are wrong. That is why I feel we need a referendum AND a full review by the PUB.

  • Eli
    October 29, 2012 - 13:08

    The conditions set down for the Muskrat debate are vile! King, like Dunderdale and Kennedy is a coward, nothing else fits the lot.

  • Maggy Carter
    October 29, 2012 - 13:04

    Yes, we will soon have DG3 numbers for Muskrat Falls. Even before their release, however, the numbers are already suspect. Why? Well, when you have a project that government and its friends want so badly, you have to question whether the estimates have been deliberately skewed to minimize the cost and risk to taxpayers. If the public has become cynical, government will have no to blame but itself. Its behaviour from the outset has been reprehensible. Not only did it not come clean on the underlying assumptions, such as the primary intended market for the power, but indeed went to the other extreme of passing legislation to exempt NALCOR and government from having to answer pertinent questions. It deprived its own PUB the information necessary to review the project and it waged a campaign to discredit anyone who dared question its viability. Muskrat boosters - many with an axe to grind - will, of course, insist that the numbers have been crunched by professional engineers, accountants and financial experts whose integrity are beyond reproach. And for the most part I think that is true. What they would have us overlook however is that this project is so large, so complex, that the integration of data from many different sources is typically left to a very small group of senior managers. These people are well aware of the public skepticism surrounding this project and the determination of the NALCOR board and the premier to see it through. No doubt they have felt the pressure to pare down the price tag. But, of course, cost estimates are only that. The history of mega projects is replete with examples wherein 'as built' costs are typically one-third higher than those forecast. When it comes to publicly funded projects, the final costs are often much higher - sometimes double the forecasts. So it will be nice to have a revised set of numbers that the government regards as final, but we should be prepared for shock and awe when the actual tally is eventually presented to government and the taxpayer.

  • Maggy Carter
    October 29, 2012 - 13:03

    Yes, we will soon have DG3 numbers for Muskrat Falls. Even before their release, however, the numbers are already suspect. Why? Well, when you have a project that government and its friends want so badly, you have to question whether the estimates have been deliberately skewed to minimize the cost and risk to taxpayers. If the public has become cynical, government will have no to blame but itself. Its behaviour from the outset has been reprehensible. Not only did it not come clean on the underlying assumptions, such as the primary intended market for the power, but indeed went to the other extreme of passing legislation to exempt NALCOR and government from having to answer pertinent questions. It deprived its own PUB the information necessary to review the project and it waged a campaign to discredit anyone who dared question its viability. Muskrat boosters - many with an axe to grind - will, of course, insist that the numbers have been crunched by professional engineers, accountants and financial experts whose integrity are beyond reproach. And for the most part I think that is true. What they would have us overlook however is that this project is so large, so complex, that the integration of data from many different sources is typically left to a very small group of senior managers. These people are well aware of the public skepticism surrounding this project and the determination of the NALCOR board and the premier to see it through. No doubt they have felt the pressure to pare down the price tag. But, of course, cost estimates are only that. The history of mega projects is replete with examples wherein 'as built' costs are typically one-third higher than those forecast. When it comes to publicly funded projects, the final costs are often much higher - sometimes double the forecasts. So it will be nice to have a revised set of numbers that the government regards as final, but we should be prepared for shock and awe when the actual tally is eventually presented to government and the taxpayer.

  • David
    October 29, 2012 - 10:29

    You'd think that hooking up with other 'loose' strangers would be easy enough on George St....it always used to be the 'easiest' place in the North America to get laid. But now, St. John's lotharios seem to be so incompetent they've turned to drugging their prey?! If it wasn't so purely evil, it would be a Newfie Joke: As in: How ugly, stupid, lazy, and lacking in morals and self-esteem are Newfoundland men? .....

    • FR
      October 29, 2012 - 12:48

      I guess these guys don't like the challenge. They are sick.

  • Maurice E. Adams
    October 29, 2012 - 08:07

    HAVE YOUR SAY ---- Latest Muskrat Falls Poll Numbers:--- Sanction 7.5%........ Send issue for review by the PUB 7.5%............ Referendum 35%........... Referendum pending a full, comprehensive PUB review 50% (Go to www.vision2041.com to VOTE)