• 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page

Comments

Comments

Recent comments

  • Corporate Psyco
    October 30, 2012 - 18:47

    Danny dragged us into this boondoggle.

  • Snoop
    October 26, 2012 - 13:45

    Little John Smith is posting to the CBC under the name God Guard Thee NFLD. Same crap, I mean poop

  • Cyril Rogers
    October 26, 2012 - 11:40

    If this was such a great deal, Mr. Williams and his wealthy friends could have surely put together a consortium to partner with the province to build this project. The markets will not properly finance this project because it is not economically viable. Sure, they can borrow some of the capital needed but not anywhere near what projects of this magnitude normally can, which would typically be around 75% on the financing side. What does that tell you??? It will cost us several billions upfront, that NALCOR is getting through the back door, along with another four or five billions from the markets(if they can even borrow that much). As costs escalate, we will see huge deficits or huge cutbacks in government programs, as they attempt to cover the inevitable shortfalls. The reality is that this project will be built totally with public money and the public has absolutely no say. Yes, EMERA "may" build the transmission line to Nova Scotia but there is no guarantee of that, as of now. Even if they do, it will not be of any benefit to the ratepayers of this province, who will be forced to subsidize any power sold there, or elsewhere. How you can say this is good for the people of the province, Mr. Lester, is more than I can fathom. Surely, you can appreciate that it will not benefit the ordinary person. I agree it will create employment for many people....but at what cost? Is it worth risking the financial capacity of this province for a project that is not necessary in terms of this island's power needs(that was the original reason)and is now being touted as a low cost source of power for Labrador mines. How can that be when every kw produced will have to be heavily subsidized when sold to industry? We can buy power from Quebec(and, yes, I see the irony in that)for about 25% of what it will cost to produce Muskrat power. Maybe its my own lack of understanding, but I fail to see the "business sense" in this project.

  • Mike
    October 26, 2012 - 11:26

    Kathy Dunderdale does not have a business background either. Danny Williams did not stay in office and he did not work out the "details" of any project agreement. To date, Nalcor, NL hydro and NL Power have not indicated how much ratepayer's bills will increase due to MF project costs as they do not have the project costs either. Therefore, your letter is invalid as an opinion that is based on facts. Except for the bits about Lorraine Michael and Liberal leader Yvonne Jones. On that we are agreed.

  • Maggy Carter
    October 26, 2012 - 08:46

    Wow! What an extremely intemperate, nasty rant from someone who should know better. I don't think Mr. Lester will have done any favours for Williams, Dunderdale and Muskrat with this incoherent diatribe. It is one thing to be blindly partisan, but another to verbally assault anyone who might dare question a project that - like the Upper Churchill - could have profound implications for the economic welfare of this province for generations to come. When I hear such vitriol creeping into the public debate over Muskrat, I am more convinced than ever that this thing must be referred to the PUB for a thorough, objective review.

    • Too Funny
      October 26, 2012 - 09:58

      "It is one thing to be blindly partisan, but another to verbally assault anyone who might dare question a project that". All I can say is Wow. Of all the people to make such a statement.

  • Ken Collis
    October 26, 2012 - 07:48

    Are you serious? My rat hole needs low cost power and my grandchildren will indeed stay in Newfoundland because after their parrents pay the hydro bill no money will be left over to pay for education. I must say as well, I never asked Danny or any other government figure for a political appointment. Hundreds of jobs!! Really!! You promise?? And will you pay my power bill too please :)

  • Too Funny
    October 26, 2012 - 07:38

    "They will now be able to stay home in Newfoundland with family ", yes, huddled around the fire because they won't be able to afford to turn on the lights and heat. How dare anyone come out of their "rat hole" to ask a question or voice an opinion.

  • Cold Future
    October 26, 2012 - 07:30

    Don boy, if the grandchildren don't get in on the short term benefits during construction or ongoing operations of the plant similar to Upper Churchill, there is more than a good chance the granchildren will be subsidizing not benifitting from Muskrat. You can't build for 30 cents a Kwh and sell for 10 cents and do really well. History has shown it, that's why Muskrat will be history in the making again.