• 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page

Comments

Comments

Recent comments

  • Ron Tizzazrd
    April 16, 2013 - 07:39

    It speaks volumes that Simeon has not spoken up or responded 'here' in his own defense, as any self-confident, self-respected person in a leadersip capacity would! He's a Chief, a leader...hmmmm! Why is he not getting to the root of his community's 'gas-sniffing' problem by singling out, and demanding that the parents of these gas-sniffing youngsters be charged, for neglect. Indeed, the Province should be 'stepping-in', not socially, but very much legally! These children need protection from themselves which is obviously not being provided their parents, their Chief or the government. Can you even begin to imagine these children walking about St. John's, or any other community with bags of gas up to their faces? Chief Simeon doesn't seem to be up to the challenge. The government of NL, needs to take the community of Natuashish, the Chief , and the kids' parents under its wing...and fix the problem in that community. Begin, by holding the parents of the children RESPONSIBLE. Work with the Feds where necessary...there have to be treaties involved here! PLEASE JUST DON'T DROP COUNSELLORS INTO THAT COMMUNITY ONCE AGAIN FOR A FEW WEEKS. THE COMMUITY NEEDS TO BE PULLED INTO THE 21st. CENTURY...WHERE THERE ARE REAL LAWS ABOUT PARENTS BEING RESPONSIBLE FOR THE CARE AND PROTECTION OF THEIR OWN CHILDREN. We, as a democratic society, a province of Canada surely have to be engaged. If these children were walking around Water St, LeMarchant rd. with bags of gas up to their faces....hell would rain down on their parents! The gas-sniffing children of Natuashish require and deserve help from a leader; then again, A GOVERNMENT, any government prepared to do what's required to save the mental, physical, social lives of the children of Natuashish. Take the Chief out of the equation. He, obviously, is not up to the task of doing what's necessary for these children of his community, except call for Counsellors again, again, yet again....! Federal government, Provincial government ...somebody SAVE THESE CHiLDREN!

  • Winston Adams
    April 11, 2013 - 16:04

    Ron Tizzard, Yes you accuse the Chief of posturing, and that he only acts upon the request of parents concerns. My information is from the recent March 28 Telegram article. The reporter states, quoting from emails, 'tonight we found children with RCMP and myself as Chief. Under 9 and 12 years old children 9 and 12 years old seven kids in home where parents has left them behind went to goose bay to drink.' This doesn't say the chief was waiting for the parents to complain to him, or that he is not proactive. In his emails he says 'I have written emails about my concerns for past three years... I cannot sit idly anymore and watch young children destroying their brain cells and the child neglect to continue from care givers.... I am sick and tired the resistance from your department Debra Keays White and your Federal counterparts when we as Innu want to help our young people about solvent abuse.' The mental health worker Klaus Muller's email says "I completely agree with the chief's proposal, ..... and also adds 'the semi presence of a single child protection worker on a 120 plus case load.... many will be tomorrows casualty or death. Emergency funding is needed .. not only for gas sniffing... but additional health needs with respect to the Mushuau Innu culture. And the official response was ... make the best use of the funding you are now getting. Seems you agree with that Ron, that our Canadian generosity has reached its limit.

  • Ron Tizzard
    April 10, 2013 - 16:49

    WHAT D0 I KNOW - you pose a very good question. Personally, it's my opinion, that both levels of governace i.e. Provincial and Federal, are still trying to figure that one out...'by-the-each'. And, given that perspective, the prevalence of treaty worm-holes of exceptions and vagueness offer up a menu ripe for 'the picking and abuse' on the part of those who have no appreciation of a generous Nation. Given that interpretation, it's no secret that the manipulation of 'every-hole' to cherry-pick from in legislation is open to be raped. The concern you raised is a very good one, screaming out for a revisitation and review of the relationship of between our native populations and Federal government. Good governance screams out for respect, equality and fairness. It is my opinion that the abuse of generosity of our Nation is being absolutely being abused by some in this Nation, perhaps exemplified being displayed in the current instance being played out in the community of Natuashish by its leadersip in recent weeks. It's all about lack of self-respect, and simple abuse of a very generous Nation, Canada. And, to be fair, the government of Canada is equally complicit for its underdefined respective legislation, and rules of political fair-play. In this instance political fair-play, in my opinion, is being very legally abused by the leadership of Natuashish. Good governance is all about respect and fair-play. There seems to be very little of that coming out of Natuashish lately.

  • Winston Adams
    April 10, 2013 - 16:04

    I wonder if Mr. Tizzard has seen the PBS documentary called " Kind Hearted Woman" and if it is of value to understanding the intergenerational abuse and challenges in aboriginal communities? Poverty and other serious problems are the norm across Canada and puts to question your suggestion of our nation being generous. My father wrote in his journals of conditions in the 1930-1940, that " The Naskaupi have been robbed and cheated by our generation and by our forefathers" There is much to support that view, and only recently has there been an acknowledgement of their rights. As for your piece, it is most damming, and seems to blame the person who has done the most to expose the danger to the gas sniffing kids there. Who would you propose to replace him? Your piece is more an assault on the chief's character than what Randy Simms said. You offer lots of criticism but nothing as to constructive suggestions. Have you visited that community? If this is the best that a clinical therapist who specializes in substance abuse can offer, then I fear for the future of those kids. W. A . Logy Bay

    • Ron Tizzard
      April 11, 2013 - 09:58

      WINSTON ADAMS April 10, 2013 at 17:34:37 ‘I wonder if Mr. Tizzard has seen the PBS documentary called " Kind Hearted Woman" and if it is of value to understanding the intergenerational abuse and challenges in aboriginal communities’? Winston, you are completely off topic. But, no, I did not see “Kind Hearted Woman’. I did not (in my letter) challenge the realities, the truths of what has taken place regarding governments (both levels through time). I wrote a brief comment, a positive one from my perspective, asking why the Chief of Natuashish again and again has to wait for parents of gas-sniffing children before reaching out to governent(s) for therapy/counselling assistance. It is, indeed, his responsibility, as Chief, to hold the Provincial government’s feet to the fire regarding its seeming less than attentive posture to the needs of the children, and their families in Natuashish. ‘Poverty and other serious problems are the norm across Canada and puts to question your suggestion of our nation being generous. My father wrote in his journals of conditions in the 1930-1940, that " The Naskaupi have been robbed and cheated by our generation and by our forefathers" There is much to support that view, and only recently has there been an acknowledgement of their rights’. Winston, my letter was a brief one…it was not my intention to write a book on the social conditions of our native peoples’ conditions past and present. It was specific to the Chief’s repeated posture of waiting for parents to seek help, as opposed to being more pro-active constantly keeping governments feet to the fire, for broad, on-going counselling services for both the kids and the familes. I challenged the Chief’s posture of waiting for families to complain before approaching the government for help. Why is that? His news bites, on this issue, constantly begin with ‘families have approached me for help with their gas-sniffing’ kids`. Winston, you wrote, “Your piece is more an assault on the chief's character than what Randy Simms said”. Please, please, don’t go there, Winston! That statement is childish, and cheapens your strengths, and `your real issue with me. Ron Tizzard

  • Ron Tizzard
    April 10, 2013 - 10:20

    WHAT D0 I KNOW - you pose a very good question. Personally, it's my opinion, that both levels of governace i.e. Provincial and Federal, are still trying to figure that one out...'by-the-each'. And, given that perspective, the prevalence of treaty worm-holes of exceptions and vagueness offer up a menu ripe for 'the picking and abuse' on the part of those who have no appreciation of a generous Nation. Given that interpretation, it's no secret that the manipulation of 'every-hole' to cherry-pick from in legislation is open to be raped. The concern you raised is a very good one, screaming out for a revisitation and review of the relationship of between our native populations and Federal government. Good governance screams out for respect, equality and fairness. It is my opinion that the abuse of generosity of our Nation is being absolutely being abused by some in this Nation, perhaps exemplified being displayed in the current instance being played out in the community of Natuashish by its leadersip in recent weeks. It's all about lack of self-respect, and simple abuse of a very generous Nation, Canada. And, to be fair, the government of Canada is equally complicit for its underdefined respective legislation, and rules of political fair-play. In this instance political fair-play, in my opinion, is being very legally abused by the leadership of Natuashish. Good governance is all about respect and fair-play. There seems to be very little of that coming out of Natuashish lately.

  • Ed Power
    April 09, 2013 - 08:20

    Mr. Tshakapesh's only solution seems to be more money. He is frequently on radio, TV and call-in shows demanding money for everything from WiFi to rinks to Community Centres, and doing this from an entire town that was built - at great expense by his fellow citizens - to eliminate the deplorable conditions that were said to causing the gas sniffing and substance abuse problems previously. Ten or fifteen years later, and the problems remain. We can't continue to pour money into a community that seems unable to address it's problems, so what are we to do? Perhaps it is time to consider relocating all these isolated communities closer to larger centres where employment opportunities and social services are available, while preserving their rights to utilize, enjoy and profit from their traditional lands.

    • what do i know
      April 09, 2013 - 10:58

      Nunatsiavut is a responsible government. Why should Chief Tshakapesh look to the Gov of NL to fix this....Personally, i don't understand the responsiblities or the politics of the interaction of the Nunat. Gov, and Gov of NL. But is it the NL taxpayers responsibility to fix the problems in a Northern Community that is under independant governance?

  • Frank
    April 09, 2013 - 07:35

    Good article Ron, I'm surprised they printed it! At some point you have to be responsible and Simeon has proven time and again that he is not up to the job. A chief in name only.