• 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page

Comments

Comments

Recent comments

  • Dominic House
    June 02, 2013 - 15:04

    If there is going to be continued opposition, there needs to be FACTS and not just "I don't like it caused they never consulted me and something might go wrong and the water might be contaminated". Governments will not react to fear mongering and posturing. I am neither pro or con on the issue but the facts seem to favor going ahead with the project. How many wells have been fractured? How many have failed? What is the possibility of failure? What is the probability of failure? What is being done to mediate failure? You need to answer all those questions with data before you can convince government and industry. Industry has their data and you need yours to contradict that if you expect to stop this job creation and revenue generating project. "I don't like it and I think it is dangerous" just won't cut it.

  • Ken Kavanagh
    June 01, 2013 - 08:00

    What a wise, insightful, respectful and astute article. Thank you for taking the time to pen this message. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it and believe you speak the truth. ken kavanagh Bell Island

  • Victor James Muise
    May 31, 2013 - 22:05

    Cultural Links Miawpukek First Nation - Conne River http://www.mfngov.ca No'kmaq Village - Flat Bay & St. Teresa's http://flatbaynl.com/?page_id=35 Benoit First Nation - St. George's Bay & Port au Port Peninsula http://ngb.chebucto.org/extlnk/lnkframe.htm?http%3A//www.benoitfirstnation.ca/mikmaq.html Ancient Spirit of the White Wolf Victor Muise - Blog Site http://t.co/0Xzdm9Lr1I Aboriginal Language http://firstnationhelp.com/ali/lesson3.php Newfoundland Aboriginal Women's Network http://nawn-nf.com

  • Pikto'l Sa'ke'j Muise
    May 31, 2013 - 20:42

    Kwe! Greetings,Victor James Muise,Bay St Georges,(Wabanaki) Mi'kmaq Nation. First people in the North American Continent:Aboriginal people's reside in all parts or the World (Unconventional Slickwater Fracking) and (Matrix Acidization) is a new sciense and Humans are trying different Models to fix a inperfict sciense.Hopefully some day the will fix their the system and process what has not been accomplished yet to this day.Many Geologistic ,Scientistics,are making some head way with the whole system:First they have to take a close look at air.Air pollution is likely pathway of exposures in many cases.Second,agents in water and air near drilling operations mixed chemicals are exposed. Thrird, What toxic exposures in air or water and how far can it travel,in rural population area.Forth,there will be accidents and are not trivial that can be cleaned up. Fifth,what is more important is the Matters because if ant of these chemicals were to mingle with the water table,under which lies the shale wiyh a layer of bedrock in between, it is possible that people's drinking water could be affected,TRUTH ans FACTS. (1-709-649-5568 )

  • Pikto'l Sa'ke'j Muise
    May 31, 2013 - 14:08

    Kwe! greetings, Victor James Muise,Box 282,St. George's A0N1Z0 ( 649-5568 ( There are some things in the world we can't change-gravity,entropy,the speed of light,and oir biological nature that reqyires clean air,clean water,clean soil,clean energy and biodiversiyy for our health and well being. Rretecting the biospher should be our highest priority or else we sicken and die,Other things,like capitalism,free enterprise,the economy,currency,the market,are forces of nature,WE INVENTED THEM. They are not immutable and we can change them. It makes no sense to elevate econiomics above the biosphere,(wela'lin) thank you: Hope I've made My country fellow people Clear.....Victor James Muise,Canada.....

  • Cindy
    May 30, 2013 - 21:52

    The Mi'kmaq of Newfoundland, have every right to have a say in this debate!!!!! We live in this area, we have a right, our future and health is at stake. Our people have always treated Mother Nature with respect, and should continue to do so by stopping something that is so destructive and devastating from taking place. With the increase of Greenhouse gases, their should be a cleaner solution sought out by the Government, instead of increase emmissions and polluting the land and water of western Newfoundland!!!

  • Cindy
    May 30, 2013 - 21:49

    The Mi'kmaq of Newfoundland, have every right to have a say in this debate!!!!! We live in this area, we have a right, our future and health is at stake. Our people have always treated Mother Nature with respect, and should continue to do so by stopping something that is so destructive and devastating from taking place. With the increase of Greenhouse gases, their should be a cleaner solution sought out by the Government, instead of increase emmissions and polluting the land and water of western Newfoundland!!!

  • Graham Oliver
    May 30, 2013 - 19:50

    David, I must compliment you on your writing skills. You indeed have VOICE. Your message comes across loud and clear: “you have little respect for the Mi'kmaq culture in NL.” I’m curious though … have you ever met Victor Muise? You certainly show great disrespect for his views and his culture, but you abysmally fail to speak to the very serious points that he makes about the “introduction of hydro-fracking to our province”. I have not known Victor very long, but since meeting him last fall I have worked with him in making Facts on Fracking presentations to the public. He is passionate and sincere when he speaks about fracking and he is constantly doing research on the topic. Without exception, Victor is always respectful of individuals who may have another point of view. Just maybe, Victor Muise and his culture are due some respect. And one other thing, although you write extremely well, it is of utmost importance to sign your name. Otherwise your vitriolic points of view will lurk in the shadows of opinion and will seldom be taken seriously. (Graham “G.” Oliver, 20 Juniper Ave. Kippens NL A2N 3E8 709-643-5426 grahamoliver5@gmail.com)

    • Mary Kennedy
      June 01, 2013 - 12:41

      Dear Mr. Graham;I totally agree with you about this David person, if he can not have or show some respect for our Elder Mr. Victor Muise, maybe he is in the wrong group. I was raised to show respect for my Elders no matter what or if I agreed with their opinions, I would never disrespect them. another thing just because he can put a sentence together don't mean he is brilliant it just means he knows how to use Auto Correct on his computer. Thank You Mary

  • J
    May 30, 2013 - 17:33

    There are no aboriginal Newfoundlanders left. They died out. You folks should have no more say than the rest of us.

  • Graham Oliver
    May 30, 2013 - 15:41

    David, I must compliment you on your writing skills. You indeed have VOICE. Your message comes across loud and clear: “you have little respect for the Mi'kmaq culture in NL.” I’m curious though … have you ever met Victor Muise? You certainly show great disrespect for his views and his culture, but you abysmally fail to speak to the very serious points that he makes about the “introduction of hydro-fracking to our province”. I have not known Victor very long, but since meeting him last fall I have worked with him in making Facts on Fracking presentations to the public. He is passionate and sincere when he speaks about fracking and he is constantly doing research on the topic. Without exception, Victor is always respectful of individuals who may have another point of view. Just maybe, Victor Muise and his culture are due some respect. And one other thing, although you write extremely well, it is of utmost importance to sign your name. Otherwise your vitriolic points of view will lurk in the shadows of opinion and will seldom be taken seriously. (Graham “G.” Oliver, 20 Juniper Ave. Kippens NL A2N 3E8 709-643-5426 grahamoliver5@gmail.com)

  • david
    May 30, 2013 - 10:26

    Sweet heaven above....we've now gone entirely around the bend, and headed squarely for Imagination Land. Not only does this crowd have themselves convinced that all the red-haired, blue-eyed, O'Learys from Crocker's Cove are natives......now they've moved onto 'Phase 2 of their revisionist saga: expunging their trash-dumping, nature-abolishing record and cloaking themselves in the myth of "native sympatico with the great Mother Earth"..... This is the most mindlessly hilarious idea for a new reality TV show in years! Get CBC on the line...

  • Bill O'Gorman
    May 30, 2013 - 09:20

    People don't have to be Mi'kmaq to know about fracking. What Victor Musise is saying is right. We have to respect the land and the resources for our health. The oil companies say they have the facts but where are they. They speak in generalities to pass off the information that they want us to hear--200 000 wells drilled and no problems---They must be joking, certainly not realistic and not what I read every day-- Anyone wanting to know about fracking all they have to do is just google "Fracking" or Fracking Risks." Or they just tune in on some TV or radio show to see and hear what is going on in other provinces, and countries,---They have banned fracking or placed a moratium on it. ( N.S., Quebec, N.B., now New York, N. Dakota, and many other states.) So why should NL not follow suit and do the right thing, to feel afraid of what may happen as on the farms of Alberta when water is lit up from the water tapps, when cows, chickens and pets are dying, when people in the states have to move from their homes and farms,and when 1 000s of trucks are on the roadways since fracking was instituted in those places. Tom Marshall says he has the facts but says he is going to Saskatchewan to see first hand. Where did he get all his information,m just new at the job, where is his Science background and the facts about what may happen to water, resources, air, the fishery, our health. He is retiring within the next few years but is going to make a decision we have to live with, a good or bad decision to make, but what has proven to be castarospic in some communities. The politicians are there to represent the people and when they know and are afraid of the possibilities that have been proven to go wrong, then they should make the good decision for the people. We are educated to the possibilites but our Toms don't seem to be and are still going to make guesses as to what they think should be. Their arrogrance and contempt, their ignorance is not representative of the people, when Tony Cornect asks What has oil to do with Tourism! Who's ignorant now and not educated to the facts that Tourism is a billion dollar industry to NL, a renewable industry at that. Where are the Jobs on the P au P pen since 20 years ago with drilling on the peninsula--not one yet. So don't talk about Jobs when their are none--get the facts before you speak.

  • Pikto'l Sa'ke'j Muise
    May 30, 2013 - 09:17

    My issues is on Fricking and Mi'kmaq the first people's of this land,Including organizations around the Gulf of St. Lawrence. Do deserve consultation presenting yes to all people and people should do their (home work )like the Governments before thinking of speak or righting on a very important issues on (Unconventional Slickwater Fracking) and i'm surtain the Supreme Court of Canada has ruled on My statmnent i applied in the said above..

  • Ken Collis
    May 30, 2013 - 07:31

    Mi'kmaq are not aboriginal to Newfoundland and have no say and deserve no more consultation than any other Newfoundlander. I do agree that there should be more done to make sure the environment is safe, just not the way the argument to do so is being presented in this letter. All Newfoundlanders are the custodians of the land and water here and we all have equal rights.