• 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page

Comments

Comments

Recent comments

  • Ron Tizzard
    September 25, 2013 - 08:32

    Stop whining David (Murphy), and let the critics have their say. They offer a masteful service. If their offerings disturb you, I suggest you turn to the comic-section of the Telegram to sooth your Oh! Oh! so fragile nerves. You cannot continue to live in comic section of the paper, and be a legitmate critic....you need to move on to the critics from time to time to find the balances in your political views. Critics offer-up a valuable service...they provide an arrange of fodder (food) for us mere mortals - like you - to chew on and decide for ourselves each day what to accept or reject. They can be very imprtant reseachers, for those who do not have the deep interest, perhaps, or time to spend on political issues. Critics are very important.

  • SAYWHAT
    September 22, 2013 - 17:55

    Dear Mr. Murphy: I notice you live in that bubble of the Northeast Avalon. I would like to share this statistic from the Federal Government. This is from Human Resources and Skills Development Canada. It's the E.I. program characteristics from Sept 8/13 to October 12/13. Mr. Murphy, did you know that Canada has 55 provincial economic regions. The Northeast Avalon is district 01. The rest of Newfoundland and Labrador is district 02. The unemployment rate in district 02 is 15.4 percent! That is the second highest unemployment rate in Atlantic Canada, the third highest in Eastern Canada and fifth highest among the provincial economic regions. I guess Mr. Murphy in your estimation must be a pretty impressive track record from the Dunderdale Government.

  • P F Murphy
    September 22, 2013 - 10:05

    This must be the latest Dunderdale strategy to achieve greater popular imagined support - tell people to stop complaining about this government's incompetence. Now Kathy is going to mess with the pension plans and destroy the benefit of retirees having money to spend when they retire for future governments - its cuts the government's costs of supporting seniors and puts real consumers in our marketplaces by forcing them to save today for tomorrow. Kathy should be up on charges for shooting future governments in the foot. It seems the Board of Trade is thinking with the same myopia, cheapen today to crucify tomorrow's entrepreneurs. If they want to build the economy they should pressure all their members to have to pension plans for their employees so they wouldn't have to live on just CPP, OAS and GIS and thus they could be significant consumers in our marketplace. Think for the future.

  • So, nevermind - It doesn't matter
    September 22, 2013 - 08:58

    I would like to complain about the letter in yesterdays news but even little schoolchildren know that freedom of speech is a requirement under the Charter and it's not my responsibility to educate whiners anyway.

  • Frankiej
    September 22, 2013 - 08:46

    Murphy, Lester, and Smith. Neither would accept the facts or truth if they came with Sunday dinner.

  • Eli
    September 21, 2013 - 13:47

    Good heavens, Murph can't be that dense. He gives all seniors a bad name with a diatribe like this.

  • wicked
    September 21, 2013 - 12:58

    The Telegram has always been antigovernment - PC or Liberal. They want to see a government that reflects their ideology but who doesn't. The only difference between them and the average Joes is that they got a newspaper to allow them to bombard us with their opinions. Opinions are like a**h*les, everyone's got one, including you and me. If you don't want to hear their opinion then don't read the newspaper.

    • Stephen  Redgrave
      Stephen Redgrave
      September 22, 2013 - 18:39

      Lighten up on the Telly. They are the best voice that we the people have going for us. Russell, Brian, and the rest of the crew know what the people want. Reality is, they have been relatively kind towards the Dunderdale government. The late Peter Worthington never held back in letting us know where he stood towards a ruling party--good or bad, I want to hear it.

  • saelcove
    September 21, 2013 - 09:45

    Yellow journalism is all we get, truth what,s that

  • Ken Collis
    September 21, 2013 - 09:33

    I'm not tired of your writing guys. Keep it up until government changes it's ways or is gone. BTW David, reporters should fight crime??? Are the PC's going to soon lay off all the cops too?

  • John Smith
    September 21, 2013 - 07:53

    Well said David. Bad mouthing the government has become a cottage industry here in the province...people forget what it was like to live under the likes of Roger Grimes and Brian Tobin...but I don't...

    • Joe
      September 22, 2013 - 18:49

      Our forefathers died in wars to defend freedom of speech and then we get Murphy and Smith trying to wipe-out or rights because of their narrow interests.

  • Secrecy breeds distrust
    September 21, 2013 - 07:48

    How are journalists going to do any "research" into the operation of government if Bill 29 effectively prevents them from obtaining the required information? Paul Antle has stated that he will repeal that travesty of democracy. Therefore, he has my vote.

  • Corporate Psycho
    September 21, 2013 - 07:46

    Speaking of diatribe. This letter wreaks of desperation. I hope the Telegram never let's up on Bill 29. It is the biggest nail in the PC coffin. Dunderdale must go!