• 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page

Comments

Comments

Recent comments

  • Tony Rockel
    January 06, 2014 - 18:13

    Yes, Dave. We should be eternally grateful to the Nalcor nincompoops for their total incompetence in allowing our electrical grid to degrade to the point where the slightest shove can send it into catastrophic failure. Giving priority over all else to the Muskrat Fail has been a perfect recipe for disaster. They could have hooked up our existing on-island hydro resources with new transmission lines and met all of our electricity needs for a tiny fraction of Muskrat Fails.

  • Ed Power
    January 06, 2014 - 09:33

    "In addition, experts from Manitoba Hydro also provided a second opinion." These wouldn't be the same "experts" who underestimated the construction costs of their Wuskwatim project by over 100%, would they......?

  • Reading Rainbow
    January 06, 2014 - 07:55

    The word commodity came into use in English in the 15th century, from the French commodité, to a benefit or profit. Going further back, the French word derived from the Latin commoditatem (nominative commoditas) meaning "fitness, adaptation". The Latin root commod- (from which English gets other words including commodious and accommodate) meant variously "appropriate", "proper measure, time, or condition" and "advantage, benefit".

  • Cashin Delaney
    January 06, 2014 - 07:37

    Electricity has the particular characteristic that it is usually uneconomical to store; hence, electricity must be consumed as soon as it is produced. Energy is a commodity product? let's get real Dave the cheerleader! Coal is a commodity, energy is a flow within a network which your experts knowingly neglect for pigeonholed mega projects. Fortitude yes, to keep up the horse face after Danny left, and pretend that our carbon offset determined mega project solves current real problems instead of exasperating them. Nalcor/hydro/mun employees are not to blame, or govt, they have to feather a nest like all of us meatbags who look the other way for their uppers. Not many are willing to call it what it is at MUN, an industrial strength begging bowl which has developed through corporate patronage. We must citicize. Criticize does not mean disparaging or dismissing. Healthy honest criticizing is welcome from open minded professionals intent on improvement and performance, this is how we progress, and 40 years experience without this, and avoiding this kind, critical treatment can leave an engineer a shell of a being, a ring waving, rubberstamping buffoon. The distance between stjohns and muskrat is big question mark. Star lake, bay despair, all this potential, or commodity (?) as it is known as in the Dave model of the universe. Energy. I can smell the wood smoke. 45 drum of gas, crowd is all looked after, thank goodness I trust in a more diverse array of experts and in my friends and family before the experts of white collar welfare at Nalcor and MUN getting paid to nod their head.

  • david
    January 05, 2014 - 13:07

    For those with courage, I suggest you Google 'Muskrat Folly', an editorial in the National Post from just over a year ago by Tom Adams, Toronto-based electricity consultant.

    • John Austin
      January 08, 2014 - 12:48

      Is that the same Tom Adams that opposes every energy-generation project that isn't based on burning recycled Birkenstock shoes? I guess that Energy Probe will never go away. Ask him about his opinion of the Seal Hunt.

    • david
      January 11, 2014 - 18:03

      Dismissal of the source, ignoring the argument, and deflecting / changing the topic. Classic Newfoundland. BTW. 99% of people are against the seal hunt.......so we're wose to ignore all outside expertise on everything? Hunh.

  • david
    January 05, 2014 - 12:55

    The world needs energy. But to take that general premise, and use it as complete, self-evident justification for a 'swing-for-the-fence', ill-conceived project rooted far deeper in political rhetoric, vengeance and ego-stroking than actual economics and pragmatic engineering...well, that's just being Newfoundland, isn't it?

  • Cecil E Young
    January 05, 2014 - 11:33

    Sir, A voice of common sense and reason. Well said! I invite you to post this article on my muskratfalls.com website for the whole to see.

  • Winston Adams
    January 05, 2014 - 10:12

    The excuse by the power companies for the long delays in restoring power is the phrase "cold load pickup". Our winter peak demand is about 3 times our summer demand due to electric heat. To assist the problem with cold load pickup the power companies can flatten the winter peak. the most effective method is more efficient electric heatpump systems instead of the century old baseboard heater. Dave short should examine the pitiful Conservation program here which addressed this. Other jurisdiction do 10 times more than our power companies. The even make the situation worse by promoting setback programmable thermostats, that automatically bring on heaters at full load in the early morning when the temperature is lowest and therefore contributes to a higher peak demand. A demand management system is not a part of Nalcor, Nfld Hydro or Nfld power approach to deal with critical situations. Instead they gamble of these situations not happening, and when they do, to initiate rotating blackouts. And they beg the customers to "conserve and turn back the thermostats". This is a demonstration of incompetence by our policy makers. And our engineers who know better are being directed by those in authority to stay silent and follow orders. Dave, are confusing the issue of more power with the issue of reliable power, and demand management. A competent power company must address all 3 issues.

  • Mr. Global Squeaker
    January 04, 2014 - 16:08

    Nalcor and MUN personnel may have experience, and knowledge, but, no personal incentive to restrain the conductors of the gravy train, even if they have a rare moment of insight beyond feathering their own nest. The "harsh truth" is that we are all out for ourselves, scientists, dummies like me, and maybe Dave. I was gone a long time, but didn't know they banned wood stoves and well water?

  • Corporate Psycho
    January 04, 2014 - 05:52

    The rolling blackouts we are experiencing now are because of the "professionals" at Nalcor. Have you checked the names on their BOD? Mostly Danny's lawyer buddies. They can't manage what they have now. MF will be a disaster for the regular people of NL. I guess we can eat cake. The days of chopping wood, etc will be back because only the rich will be able to afford their power bill.

    • Muffep
      January 06, 2014 - 09:13

      Dunderdale equates gas fireplace as cake. Let them burn propane. Wood burning is carbon neutral.