Liberals not afraid of being open and accountable

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

As the clock ticks down the weeks and months before the next provincial election, there are people across our province looking for answers from all political parties on why they should cast their vote for one or the other.

In fact, it would be remiss of me not to acknowledge that looking for a change in government also means you must know what options exist for choosing change.

The Liberal Party of Newfoundland and Labrador is in a position to be that change.

People are asking us what our policies are and what we stand for. Some are saying that perhaps we’re holding our cards to our chest, afraid of showing our hand too soon.

The thing is, we’re not afraid of being open and accountable.

We’ve already developed comprehensive policies and ideas that are a result of countless hours of conversations at kitchen tables, community wharfs and summer festivals.

Right now, we’re collaborating with Newfoundlanders and Labradorians, creating a comprehensive plan that addresses the concerns and interests of people all across the province.

We’re more interested in that work right now than rolling out a Red Book months ahead of a general election call.

When the work is done, we will deliver a policy platform that Newfoundlanders and Labradorians deserve.

First and foremost is restoring accountability and transparency to government.

A Liberal government will repeal Bill 29 and start fresh with new legislation outlining the democratic principles a government should stand behind.

Even now there are policy issues that Liberals are addressing publicly.

We will develop a new energy plan that looks at all energy resources, including offshore natural gas, wind power, small hydro and other alternatives.

We will look at exploration off Labrador, the North Coast of Newfoundland, and the Gulf of St. Lawrence.

Our provincial energy plan should reflect changes in the energy markets, and address energy security and conservation.

We are wholly committed to improving health care, and are currently in the process of developing a new and aggressive strategy that will include input from our frontline workers.

They know the system. They can help fix it.

We will work with communities to develop a long-term plan to upgrade infrastructure and improve our transportation system.

We’ll hold an annual Premier’s Forum for Municipalities. Municipalities deserve more attention, and a Liberal government will give it to them.

We’ll introduce economic development strategies in our rural communities that will include a plan for youth employment, including community leaders as collaborators to advise on the best use of public tax dollars.

We’ll appoint a group of driven and innovative people to create a diversification strategy for our economy, helping to reduce our heavy reliance on non-renewable oil revenues.

Our greatest resource is our people and only by listening to to our people and collaborating with them can we achieve more.

We have released and will continue to release policies only after effective and meaningful consultation that acts in the best interest of our people.

The right thing to do is to listen to the people and then act in their best interest and that’s exactly what we’re doing.

When it’s released, the Red Book will be the people’s book. They’re the ones writing it.

 

Dwight Ball is the leader of the Official Opposition.

 

 

Organizations: Liberal Party of Newfoundland and Labrador

Geographic location: North Coast, Newfoundland

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page

Comments

Comments

Recent comments

  • Tony Rockel
    April 10, 2014 - 21:38

    More to the point, Mr Ball, are you willing to make NALCOR open and accountable?

  • Cyril Rogers
    April 10, 2014 - 14:18

    Mr. Ball, I know that you were highly critical of Muskrat Falls at one point but, lately, you and the Liberal Party seem to have retaken the approach that it is a done deal and there is nothing to be done but see it through. My questions are these: ……. If elected within the next 12 months……Are you willing to cancel the deal if NALCOR cannot show, to your satisfaction that the ongoing expenditures will far exceed any dollars spent to that point? I realize the province will be on the hook for up to 3 billion or more by then but…what if the final cost exceeds 10 billion? There is no question in my mind that it will and that it is a catastrophe in the making….so would you cancel it? While the loss of billions of dollars would be painful, it would, in my opinion, be the lessor of two evils. Will you, sir, be brave enough to be on the right side of history?

    • Maurice E. Adams
      April 10, 2014 - 15:01

      The Liberals will not cancel what their backroom puppet masters support.... Perhaps the governing PCs will come to their senses before it is too late. If not, the Muskrat Monster will continue to ensure a Liberal victory.

    • Jay
      April 10, 2014 - 15:47

      Dwight Ball has never been highly critical of Muskrat Falls. This is a complete myth. He asked some mickey mouse questions about it, then voted against it, knowing it would pass anyway, in the meaningless theatre which we call the House of Assembly. Since then he's said nothing. He, and Cathy Bennett, know, all too well, that the power brokers in the Liberal party are strongly in favour of this project because their businesses will make a lot of money. He also knows there are enough stupid people around who think he's going to scrap the deal, so he's choosing to say nothing about it. I can't believe how gullible the people of this province are.

    • Maxwell J.
      April 10, 2014 - 16:53

      I agree with much of what you say about Muskrat but, unfortunately, I think we are past the point of no return. However I see little chance of extricating ourselves at this stage. There would still be huge legal difficulties in backing out. Moreover there is a large sunk cost in construction thus far. No doubt he will have a hard look at it, but I have no doubt that the best available advice is that - for better or worse - the province is married to this deal. What I do expect from Ball is a comprehensive audit of the project by the AG, a serious attempt to limit the inevitable escalation in costs, and an honest, blunt public assessment of the risks and implications of having moved ahead with this unnecessary development. Unlike the Upper Churchill, this time I think it will be difficult for for those responsible to escape being held to account for the questionable decision-making process that got us here.

  • Gerry.
    April 09, 2014 - 16:05

    All we need is a Premier who, when he appears on the National scene at Conferences/premiers' meetings etc, refers to Newfoundland & Labrador as his 'ome province, that he is the leader in the 'ouse of Assembly of NL, and that NL has a rich 'istory. Combine that with dire lack of charisma and voila, you have a fascinating audio/visual phenomena.

  • John Smith
    April 09, 2014 - 13:18

    Vision less, , and of course policy-less...can you imagine the shape we would be in if these guys ever get in? I mean the PCs are bad, really bad, but the Liberals? My God, between Eddy Joyce, Lisa Dempster and Sam Slade...I don't know which is more cluless? God help us all if the Liberals ever get in...God help us all...

    • Maurice E. Adams
      April 09, 2014 - 14:35

      God help us all if Muskrat Falls is not stopped. Dwight however does not seem to be the man to do it.

    • Virginia Waters
      April 09, 2014 - 20:10

      One would almost think someone forgot to slip the envelope under the door on time. But of course most people can readily see through your silly ploy. That's where you go for street cred by admitting your own guys are bad but that the other guys are a lot worse. Oldest scam in the book. Hope your pay check doesn't depend on results. If so, tonight's Liberal win in a Tory stronghold will set you back some.

  • Joebennett
    April 09, 2014 - 11:50

    Well, it looks like the PC organization is getting all their cronies posting on this story. Why don't they look at what they are about to do with 20 million dollars to put a pellet plant in Botwood. Sounds like another Sprung Greenhouse given away by another PC govt. Put that together with another 110 million they're loaning ( ha, ha, loan ? ) to Joe Kruger who is a billionaire. This government is a pure joke and the people can't wait to get rid of them along with DW. Bill 29, Muskrat Falls, GF-Windsor Abibiti mill, Burton Winters, cozy with Steven Harper and a host of others will be remembered by the public.

  • John
    April 09, 2014 - 11:07

    Harvey, if you don't vote, your opinion is null and void, go back to sleep.

  • Harvey
    April 09, 2014 - 10:23

    Maxwell J....didn't say I was voting this time....remember though, rats huddle with rats.

  • Larry
    April 09, 2014 - 09:43

    @ Tony, I can answer that question for you, When its come the Muskrat Falls, Dwight is going to do (ABSOLUTELY ) nothing. You do understand Dwight is only a desk jockey, Nothing more or nothing less. In on other words, he not a leader, but a follower.

  • Tony Rockel
    April 09, 2014 - 08:17

    Mr Ball, what are you going to do about Muskrat Falls?

  • Shucks
    April 09, 2014 - 07:37

    Typical politician; A lot of words to say absolutely nothing.

    • Sick of the shills
      April 09, 2014 - 09:09

      Typical shill - you didn't even bother to read the article, did you.

    • Sick of shills calling others shills
      April 09, 2014 - 12:03

      Yes I did. Did you? If you did you'll realize he said nothing. He's only saying he'll look at the issues but not how they will address them. For example, he'll repeal Bill 29 but won't say what he'll replace it with. He'll develop a new energy plan but that doesn't mean he won't stop MF. See, he's playing the word games of a politician and you fell for it.

  • Harvey
    April 09, 2014 - 07:06

    I have heard this type of political BS for so long , that it means nothing anymore. Mr.Ball , I had intended to change my vote in the next provincial election, but when you scrambled to salvage rats from what they perceived as sinking ships , I became instantly turned off.

    • Maxwell J.
      April 09, 2014 - 09:56

      So Harvey which would you rather - a party with a rat or two, or one overrun by rats? This will be my first time voting Liberal because I know where the rats are. Am I a fan of Lane? No, but he is a minor irritation. Frankly I would't be surprised if opportunists like that are weeded out in the nomination process. I don't think there'll be any shortage of good candidates showing up for the Liberals this time around.

  • Scott
    April 08, 2014 - 17:52

    First start by returning phone calls, that would help. Mr Ball you got no cards to hold tight to your chest, Your just hoping the PC's fall flat on their faces, I guess its some what like the liberals plan concerning the fishery, for the past three years. Or could it be some what like going to Jackson Arms, And only see make work project, follow by starvation. Thing about having a plan, the people will remember who presented its, Thing about the liberals they are getting NERVOUS,

    • ivy
      April 09, 2014 - 12:54

      First you identify a problem, then when the time is right and you know the resources needed to fix the problem you make an accurate solution without breaking the bank. Ball is the most accessible politician that you will find. He will listen, acknowledge and address with knowledge instead of sticking a million dollar band aid on every problem for a solution,