• 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page

Comments

Comments

Recent comments

  • Steve
    July 20, 2010 - 13:03

    I have to agree with Robin, the LTE section of the newspaper should not be allowed to be used for a soapbox for the regurgitation of government propaganda. It should only be done in a properly conducted interview. We all know we have to listen to enough hot air and BS from our elected officials on a daily basis anyway.

  • Robin
    July 20, 2010 - 13:02

    Letter's to the Editor should never publish the rantings of a Government Minister, LTE's are there for the public to use in order to give their opinion. If the Minister wanted to let the governments hot air fill the rooms of our homes, she should have given an interview with one of your reporters. I send on average two letters every week to the paper and never get any space, even though the articles deal with things that affect all of NL. I think it's pitiful that the Telegram would even consider publishing the letter from Minister Dunderdale. Or was that to make up for having to report on the story in the first place?

  • Mark
    July 20, 2010 - 13:02

    Robin, nothing could be further from the truth. Letters to the editor are not for you to express an opinion, they're for the state of Dannystan to GIVE you your opinion. As for the opening statement in Ms. Dunderdale's letter, the Telegram didn't 'miss the real purpose' of the government's sham announcement. As this letter aptly proves, they knew it precisely from the outset.

  • david
    July 20, 2010 - 13:02

    The only time the government is open and transparent, is when they open thier mouths to spew out more hot air, or when they wish to ensure that a certain industry in Central never gets the chance to restart. I have never seen the government give out so much info on a company's plans as was done in that case. Sure got the desired results though. GFW will never be a mill town again, just another town living of the gov teet.

  • greg
    July 20, 2010 - 13:02

    BS.........The tory appointed Nalcor crowd have unfettered access to our oil money, while rural NL suffers on every front. Unfettered BS.

  • Eugene
    July 20, 2010 - 13:02

    I disagree on what the LTE section is for. Anyone expressing themselves in a reasonable manner about a pertinent subject should be given the floor. That said, one can only imagine the gall of this minister to use the 'openness and transparency' in reference to Nalcor, an entity we, the people, own that is not subject to public tendering or access to information. This exercise on the government's part is little more than establishing the perception of an arm's length relationship with Nalcor. While there haven't been any overt suggestions, mentioning benefits, and referring to 'jobs for the province', leaves one wondering to whom the 'benefits' (ie. profits, royalties, investment income from energy harvesting) will accrue. Clyde tried to privatize Newfoundland Hydro, will Danny succeed in bringing all of our energy industries to the 'market'.

  • Polly
    July 20, 2010 - 13:02

    Just a thought --- when the House of Assembly opens for the fall session , the government MHAs could hand out Vuvuzelas to the Opposition members .

  • S
    July 20, 2010 - 13:02

    The minister expected applause for supplying a set of hypothetical employment targets for a hypothetical project? Expect hypothetical applause!

  • Pierre Neary
    July 20, 2010 - 13:02

    As I read the letter from the Minister I found that she made some well thought out points. Until I got to the end and nearly spit out my coffee. Our government remains committed to openness and transparency and will continue to inform residents in a timely and responsible manner. Please Minister, everyone knows that this is the most secretive administration this island has ever seen. The people of the province will be finding out information on this government years after they have left office. The truth will come out in the wash one of these years on this government and it wont be pretty. If Ministers such as Dunderdale continue to treat the voters of NL with contempt and arrogance such as this then maybe it wont be that long after all.

  • Dave
    July 20, 2010 - 13:02

    Darn right Minister Stunnederdale should leave the letters pages free from government propoganda. That's what the radio open line shows are for.