Hebron Public Review Commission sessions

Developing the capability and capacity of the local oil and gas industry is at the front and centre of the Hebron Public Review Commission as it be­gan sessions Monday, Nov. 21, 2011 at the Holiday Inn in St. John’s. The public meetings are set for three weeks, with presentations from provincially based organizations and individuals. Presentations are expected to also touch on potential negative impacts of the project, environmental protection and precautions for offshore worker safety. The Telegram will have full coverage.

Hebron Public Review Commission sessions
— Photo by Ashley Fitzpatrick/The Telegram
Fish, Food and Allied Workers (FFAW) union president Earle McCurdy (left) speaks with Hebron Public Review Commissioner Miller Ayre prior to making a presentation to the commission Dec. 6, 2011.
Most recent comment
Not an American
- April 29, 2016
- 19 h 00

This one goes to you (Geoff Parker) manager of the Hebron Project Hello to all ,I'm a former Newf in Alberta 31 years working in the oil/gasconsulting/design/engineering and yes I've worked 6-years on NF drilling/production rig/platforms here in Alberta. Past 31 years I've been trying to get employment back in NF,with no success. I guess you have to be American or a foreign worker to work for min.wage. So much for getting Newf's back home.If you check the stats the only Newf's that go back to NF is for retirement. Regards Former Newfoundlander

Other reports

Mount Cashel civil suit April 25, 2016

Roughly seven decades ago, the Roman Catholic archbishop patted the heads of some boys as he passed them in the hallway. Among them was a St. John’s man recently stood up in court in a case about whether the church had a role in operating the infamous Mount Cashel orphanage. Follow our full coverage here.

The Mount Cashel Orphanage in St. John's. The building was torn down in 1992.
The Nalcor story April 21, 2016

The Telegram has followed the Nalcor story since its inception. It is an ongoing story with many twists, turns and the occasional surprise.

Theme :
Business
N.L. Budget 2016 hikes taxes, lays foundation for deep cuts April 15, 2016

Newfoundland Finance Minister Cathy Bennett delivered a tough budget Thursday, appearing angry at the Tories who left a fiscal mess, angry at Nalcor Energy and it’s multibillion-dollar Muskrat Falls project, and most of all angry for the choices she had to make. Here are some of the stories from Telegram and TC reporters who covered the April 14, 2015 budget.

Theme :
Local
Herder Memorial Trophy 2016 March 18, 2016

The Telegram’s connection to the Herder goes back to the very beginning. As former Telegram publisher Stephen R. Herder wrote in May 1980, “There were seven Herder brothers, sons of W.J. Herder who started The Evening Telegram in 1879. All seven were hockey ‘stars’ (if you don’t mind my saying so), though the only one I really remember was my own father, Ralph, who taught me to skate on Rennies River in St. John’s in the mid-1930s.
“The Herder Memorial Trophy is in memory of (in order of age) Arthur, William, Douglas, Augustus and Hubert Herder,” casualties of the First World War.

Follow our full coverage of the 2016 Newfoundland Senior Hockey championship and the fight for the Herder Memorial Trophy.

Catch our exclusive podcasts for the series here!

We're streaming the series LIVE. Get it here!

The Herder Memorial Trophy