Hebron Public Review Commission sessions

Developing the capability and capacity of the local oil and gas industry is at the front and centre of the Hebron Public Review Commission as it be­gan sessions Monday, Nov. 21, 2011 at the Holiday Inn in St. John’s. The public meetings are set for three weeks, with presentations from provincially based organizations and individuals. Presentations are expected to also touch on potential negative impacts of the project, environmental protection and precautions for offshore worker safety. The Telegram will have full coverage.

Hebron Public Review Commission sessions
— Photo by Ashley Fitzpatrick/The Telegram
Fish, Food and Allied Workers (FFAW) union president Earle McCurdy (left) speaks with Hebron Public Review Commissioner Miller Ayre prior to making a presentation to the commission Dec. 6, 2011.
Most recent comment
Not an American
- July 29, 2016
- 19 h 00

This one goes to you (Geoff Parker) manager of the Hebron Project Hello to all ,I'm a former Newf in Alberta 31 years working in the oil/gasconsulting/design/engineering and yes I've worked 6-years on NF drilling/production rig/platforms here in Alberta. Past 31 years I've been trying to get employment back in NF,with no success. I guess you have to be American or a foreign worker to work for min.wage. So much for getting Newf's back home.If you check the stats the only Newf's that go back to NF is for retirement. Regards Former Newfoundlander

Other reports

Tragedy in France July 15, 2016

Police are still trying to verify the number of dead and injured after a truck accelerated through a crowd celebrating Bastille Day in Nice, France. We will update these stories as information becomes available.

Nice, France
Watching Canada Post July 06, 2016

As labour talks break down at Canada Post, the possibility of closed offices and delayed deliveries looms. TC Media has been following the story from the start. Here are some of the stories we have filed. Check back to stay up to date.

Canada Post
We Will Remember Them — Lest we forget June 30, 2016

In commemoration of July 1, 2016, the 100th anniversary of the Battle of Beaumont Hamel, which resulted in devastating losses to the Royal Newfoundland Regiment, The Telegram has devoted much of its June 30, 2016 paper to recollections of the somber event. Here's a collection of some of our stories, columns and letters to the editor, as well as TC Media articles to mark the anniversary.

Theme :
Local
This photograph served as the inspiration for the Caribou Memorials, erected in commemoration of Newfoundland's war dead. — The Rooms Provincial Archives Division, A 68-82/S.H. Parsons & Sons
Animals and us June 13, 2016

Whether it's about someone doing good for our feathered and four-legged friends, or the excitement — and anger — created when modern life meets the wild kingdom, there's always interest in a story about animals. Here are a few we have followed in TC Media.