Mount Pearl’s best of 2013 to be honoured Friday night

Telegram Sports
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

The 2013 Mount Pearl Sports Alliance top athletes, coach and sports executive of the year will be named Friday at the Reid Community Centre
The event is part of the annual Mount Pearl Sports Hall of Fame and 2013 Athletic Awards ceremony.

Mount Pearl Sport Alliance

Finalists for female athlete of the year include basketballer Hannah Jardine and two soccer players, Malorie Harris and Meghan Earle.

Up for male athlete of the year honours are Special Olympian Ryan Drover, track and field’s Daniel Kelloway and ball hockey’s Patrick O’Keefe.

Doug Halliday of track and field and Ellis Coles of soccer are finalists for coach of the year, while Gayle Cave, Mount Pearl-Paradise Youth Bowling Council, Ron O’Neill of the Mount Pearl Soccer Association and Beth Robson of Special Olympics Mount Pearl are in line for the Peter Halliday Executive of the Year Award.

One winner has already been decided as the Mount Pearl men’s masters soccer team has been selected team of the year.

Selection committee members included Wayne Andrews, Don Kelly, Larry Billard, Roy Locke and Gary Martin.

Youth and junior awards will be announced in May as part of the Mount Pearl Focus on Youth Awards.

Tickets for this year’s awards ceremony, with Molson Coors as the major sponsor, are $30 each and can be picked up at the Sport Alliance office by calling 748-6489 or e-mailing

Event sponsors include Browning Harvey, VOCM, Eastern Audio, Newfoundland Power and the Scotsburn Dairy Group.

Organizations: Mount Pearl-Paradise Youth Bowling Council, Mount Pearl Soccer Association, Sport Alliance Newfoundland Power Scotsburn Dairy Group

Geographic location: Mount Pearl

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page