Dyke, McIlroy named MUN’s athletes of the year

Telegram Sports
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Rookie swimmer Gavin Dyke and veteran cross-country runner Caroline McIlroy were named Memorial University’s athletes of the year and winners of the Butler Trophy Thursday night at the 54th annual awards ceremony.

Dyke was dominant in the pool in his rookie season, qualifying for the CIS championship early in the year by winning four silver medals in as many events at the Dalhousie AUS Invitational.

In January, he excelled again with five gold medals in each of his individual events. At the AUS Championship at home, Dyke was on the podium five times individually and twice for relays, and was named rookie of the meet.

After the CIS championship, where he was the only Sea-Hawk to qualify, the AUS named him rookie of the year.

McIlroy had an outstanding cross-country season in 2013. She started off the year by winning a six-kilometre race at the St. Francis Xavier AUS Invitational in September. At the AUS Championship in October, she finished fourth, earning her third straight conference all-star and Canadian Interuniversity Sport (CIS) cut, making her the only Sea-Hawk to finish in the top 10 all season.

The Dr. J.D. Eaton coach of the year award went to women’s soccer head coach Walt Mavin, who guided a predominantly rookie team to the AUS quarter-final, where the Sea-Hawks were defeated in overtime. This marked the first time in five years that the team reached the playoffs.

Seven of Memorial’s graduating student-athletes were inducted into the Athletic Honour Society, which recognizes those that have made an outstanding contribution to the athletic program at Memorial University. This year’s inductees are Lauren Windsor (soccer), Dayna Hogan (swimming), Angela Peddle (volleyball), Samantha March (volleyball), Adrienne Penney (volleyball) and Brittney Dalton (basketball).


Others awards were:

•    Sea-Hawks Cup (varsity team that best combines athletics, academics, community initiatives and fitness scores): women’s volleyball team

•    Michael “Beecher” Smith Heart Award (the student-athlete who goes above and beyond the call of duty in his or her sport, awarded in memory of Michael Smith, a varsity wrestler who passed away suddenly in January 2007): Caleb Gould of the men’s basketball team

•    Graham Snow Memorial Award (the student who combines prowess in varsity athletics with high academic achievement): Caleb Gould

•    Student Trainer of the Year: Sara Avery

•    Cheerleader of the Year: Sasha Best

•    Jubilee Cup (outstanding distance runner): Caroline McIlroy

•    Soccer male and female most valuable players: Jane Pope and Jordi Slaney

•    John Drinkwater Memorial Trophy (varsity swimmer of the year): Gavin Dyke

•    Edward P. Browne Memorial Trophy (outstanding male and female intercollegiate basketball players): Kelia Pond and Vasilije Curcic

•    NLVA MVP Awards (most valuable male and female varsity volleyball players): Angela Peddle and Nathan Tilley

•    Wrestler of the Year: Ian Janes

Several scholarship recipients were also recognized during the evening, including:

•    Damien and Denis Collier Scholarship: Ian Janes (wrestling)

•    NLSA Soccer Awards: Hannah Noseworthy and Matthew Hamlyn

•    Friends of Sea-Hawks Soccer Awards: Taedy O’Rourke and Alexe Morgan

•    Elizabeth Dale NLVA Scholarship: Krista Hogan and Catherine Ducey (volleyball)

•    Lorne Woolridge NLVA Scholarship: Cody Harvey and Blake Power (volleyball)

•    ANE Running Club Award: Justine O’Leary and Connor Bolton

•    Harold Squires Scholarship: Noel Moffat (basketball)

•    Frank T. Butler Memorial Scholarship: Megan Robinson (basketball)

•    Erin Bursey Memorial Leadership Award: Adrienne Penney (volleyball)

•    James Bayer Memorial Scholarship Nominee: Angela Peddle (volleyball)

Organizations: Athletic Honour Society, ANE Running Club

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page