Toyota, Pennecon capture Division I hoop titles

The Telegram
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Toyota won the provincial women’s division one basketball championship over the weekend in Placentia, defeating the Bay Ladies 55-54 in a close-as-you-can-get final.

Erin Mullaley of the Bay Ladies, who battled with Toyota the entire season in the St. John’s Ladies Division I league, was fouled on her shot attempt just as the final buzzer sounded.

She was awarded two shots and an opportunity to tie the game. Mullalley made the first shot to draw the score to 55-54 but missed the second.

Kim Devison of Toyota topped all scorers in Sunday’s game with 16 points, while teammates Kate Devereaux, with 13 points and Marik Valenzen, with 12, also led the winners offensively.

Other members of the champion team are tournament MVP Amy Costello, Ally Forsey, Kate Devereaux, Katherine Vanderzen and Brittany Constantine.

Kendell Kavanagh (14 points) and Robyn O’Reilly (11) were the leading scorers for Bay Ladies, who suffered their first loss of the competition. Bay Ladies had downed Toyota 66-56 in round-robin play.

Named to the tourney’s all-star team were Devinson, Valenzen, Mullaley and Corinna Cunningham of Bay Ladies and Sydney Ezekiel of Dynamic Physio.

The provincial under-17 team also competed in the four-team event, which was held at Laval High School.

The men’s division one championship was also held over the weekend in Grand Falls-Windsor, where Pennecon of St. John’s won the title by defeating hometown team Donnini’s  77-74 behind Justin Halleran’s 31 points.

Other members of Pennecon include Will Bradbury, Bob Cook, John Devereaux, Steve Earles, George English, Robbie Hickey, Jason Shepherd, Christian Somerton and Mark Tobin.

Tournament all-stars were Bradbury, Visilije Curcic and Alpha Kisusi of Donnini’s, Alex Harding of Baker Sub-Trades and Alex Smith of Cal LeGrow.

Organizations: Toyota, Laval High School.The

Geographic location: Grand Falls-Windsor

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page