Third straight Tely Junior Golf Tour win for Glendenning's McGrath

Telegram Sports
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Local Sports Roundup

Mitchell McGrath collected his third consecutive Tely Tour age-group win of the season by posting the day’s low score in the Junior Tour Championship at Pitcher’s Pond on Monday.

The Glendenning golfer shot a 79, three strokes less than runner-up Drew Stonehouse. Michael Broders rounded out the junior boys group with a 90. McGrath won his division in the Gander Junior Open and the Grand Falls Junior Invitational.

Kelly Brown was the top junior girl with a 99 and Matthew Mills claimed the juvenile boys title shooting an 84. In bantam play, Alex Dolomount carded the low score for the boys with a 40 over nine holes while Paige Hickey had a 52 for the girls.

The tour continues with the Corner Brook Junior Invitational at Blomidon on Thursday, followed by the Humber River Junior on Friday.






Power play for PCI/RMM

Matt Power went three-for-three at the plate to pace PCI Roebothan McKay Marshall to an 8-2 win over Rob Roy in Molson St. John’s intermediate softball Monday night at Lion’s Park.

Power fired a four-hitter for the win. Daniel Dalton gave up 12 hits in taking the loss.

Andrew Gale had two hits for Rob Roy.

The game scheduled between MJR Masonry and Lafontaine Club Molson was postponed.



Team    GP    W    L    Pts

C.B.S. Storm    12    8    4    16

Lafontaine Club    10    7    3    14

Rob Roy    11    6    5    12

MJR Masonry    11    5    6    10

C.B.C. Jr. Canadians    11    5    6    10

Bay Roberts    11    5    6    10

PCI/RMM    13    5    8    10

*Midget Selects    8    4    4    4

Game on Gear    10    3    7    6


*First round (8 games) only





Bowringer wins provincial senior C title

Bowringer edged Slayers 2-1 for the provincial C senior ladies’ A division final during the weekend.

Lindsay Reddy and Cathy Woodman scored for the winners and Nicole Noseworthy replied.

Members of Bowringer are Andrea Duguid, Gillian Halliday, Pam Reid, Lindsey Reddy, Deanne Costello, Rayleen Baggs, Debbie Shortall, Sonia Beresford, Donna Gibbons, Jennifer Rose, Danielle Swain, Laurie Scurrey, Jennifer Fahey, Missy Stamp, Amy Slaney, Nicki Bailey, Carolanne Williams, Lesley Rideout, Anne Stapleton, Cathy Woodman (Caines), Kelli Giannou, Lori Phillips, Gina Burke, Andrea Vatcher, Karen Eason Norman and coach Harry Hickman.

Bowringer MVP: Raelene Baggs

Slayers MVP: Sara Jinsfor

B Final

Bull and Barrel 4, Mount Pearl 0

GS: Bull and Barrel — Keisha Pearcy (2), Jill Squires, Sarah Kirby

C Final

Blue Thunder 6, Paradise 1

GS: Blue Thunder — Cassel Young (3), Lauren Noftle (3); Paradise  — Sam Pomroy

Blue Thunder MVP: Amy O’Brien

Paradise MVP: Jenna Edstrom

Organizations: Corner Brook Junior Invitational, PCI, Molson

Geographic location: Mount Pearl

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page