Three new appointees to Marble Mountain board

Staff ~ The Telegram
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

There are three new faces on the Marble Mountain Development Corp. (MMDC) board of directors, while four individuals have been reappointed to a second term.
Tourism Minister Clyde Jackman announced that Robert (Bob) Pike of St. John's, Stephen May of Corner Brook and Dale Park of Steady Brook, are the newest members of the board.
They will join board chairman Jamie Schwartz, who was appointed in January 2008, along with board members Janice Ryan, Mike Dolter, Jerry George and Laura Walbourne, who have been re-appointed through to May 2011.
The 11-member board also includes representation from the departments of Tourism, Culture and Recreation; Finance; and, Innovation, Trade and Rural Development.
The board of the Marble Mountain Development Corp. has a mandate to market and promote the facility as a four-season anchor attraction which will serve as a catalyst for development on the west coast and in the province as a whole. Marble Mountain employs more than 100 people during its peak season of operation from December to April each year, and generates revenue in excess of $2.7 million annually - along with millions more in tourism-related spending and economic activity.
Skier visits to Marble Mountain have more than doubled from 44,000 in 1995-96 to 90,700 in 2008-09. Hotels, bed-and-breakfasts, restaurants and businesses in general benefit from the visitor activity at the resort.

Organizations: Marble Mountain Development, Marble Mountain board

Geographic location: St. John's, Corner Brook, Marble Mountain Dale Park Steady Brook

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page